We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kames Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

As we were here 'off season' we got the Superior room at the standard room rate of £90.00 per room, and it was lovely. The room looked out over the bay, which was stunning. The meals were all served in the bar area, but it was very pleasant and cosy. A good selection on the menu, and the food was well cooked and generous portions. We had a lovely cooked breakfast looking out across the bay. The hotel is a little tired looking, but the staff are friendly and very welcoming, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a sea view room, as you can lie in bed and look out across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copter62, Owner at The Kames Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for putting a review on here - we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the area. I have passed your lovely comments on to the team. And you're right, the hotel is definitely due for a redecoration this winter! We invested in a new boiler & hot water system last year and now plan to 'spruce up' in time for the spring. We do hope you'll get an opportunity to come back and visit again and see what we've done with the place - best regards Pat & Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    76
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
135
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, Lancs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here last weekend with our (well behaved) dog.
Room cosy, clean and did the job. Busy pub/restaurant downstairs but couldn't hear any noise from bedroom.
Food & beer good, awesome views from room. Very welcoming.

Room Tip: We booked at last minute. On top floor in small but cosy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooster100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copter62, Owner at The Kames Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments - which have been passed onto the rest of the team. We hope you manage to visit again soon - best regards Pat & Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed there last night as had looked at the new hotel and marina at Portavadie which was very nice, but it had no atmosphere, so decided to go to the Kames hotel which I knew from years ago. Pat the owner and his staff are brilliant. Great banter and the meals are superb for the price, the rib eye steaks are succulent with a great garnish. Breakfast wash a full Scottish one, and not swimming in grease, rooms are very comfortable, both looking onto the Loch and onto the garden, rooms are warm and plenty of hot water. There is a lovely bar with some very colourful characters and the banter was great. Some other local owned hotels should take a leaf out of Pat's very pleasant manner and Dave the barman are so welcoming. The lady at reception was so welcoming, big smile and even all the other guest commented on how much they liked the place. Well done Pat, Sandy and myself will be back and probably with a big group of friends. See you soon.

Room Tip: I had garden view, which was nice, and my friend had a loch view that was stunning. The hotel also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copter62, Owner at The Kames Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. These have been passed on to all the staff - but Pat especially is so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you do find an opportunity for another visit and look forward to seeing you again then - best regards Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Kames Hotel in mid August - wonderful hospitality, great food, the restaurant and bar reassuringly full on a Friday night - when it's full of locals, you know as a visitor, that you're on to a good thing! Our meals were very tasty, and the Scottish breakfasts lived up to their reputation. We hope to be able to return sooner rather than later! Beautiful views across the loch. Penny & Craig McMillan

Room Tip: The sea views were lovely from the front. Lots of hot water, though we'd arrived late. sumptuou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent two nights at the Kames hotel, using a groupon voucher. Good value for money. If you want to escape for a couple of days and enjoy the peace and quiet - with no mobile phone reception, then this is a lovely place. Room was small but cosy and clean. Staff were friendly and we enjoyed watching the fireworks on the beach. Ideally try and get a room with a seaview as the scenery is amazing.

Room Tip: Ideally book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DundeeMac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights in October and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. we had booked using a groupon deal, and were unsure what we'd get for the excellent deal we got.
Our room faced the garden, which was a shame as the views over the water were lovely and wouldn't have been better, but we weren't in the room that much, so it didn't spoil our stay. The room (5) was quite small, but very clean and nicely decorated. The bed could have done with some more plusher pillows, but the brand new mattress, was super comfortable! had a great nights sleep.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night, food was good and service friendly. The bar and lounge was a bit rough around the edges, with random furniture, with a not so welcoming atmosphere. We chose not to eat or drink in it.

Breakfast was good, with a good menu to choose from, nice coffee on tap and a chirpy waitress. If you want a quiet and relaxing stay in a quiet coastal village, it's probably just what you're looking for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LelGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birgham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything excellent! We stayed here for 2 nights arriving on September 30th, to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and are so pleased we chose this lovely welcoming hotel with just the most warm and friendly staff, tasty cooked Scottish breakfasts and busy little bar. The atmosphere here watching the Ryder Cup's final night was superb with staff, locals and hotel guests mixing together with brilliant humour; an unforgettable night. We stayed in Room 2 - extremely comfy bed (2 doubles in this room), lots of space, small but adequate shower room and fantastic views over the Kyles of Bute. Cannot say enough about the staff here, from making our booking to our departure they couldn't do enough for us. Pat and Shelley (the owners) were really chatty and go out of their way to make sure guests are happy, and John who flits between reception and behind the bar, was great company, very efficient and gave brilliant customer service. This is a lovely, friendly, comfortable and relaxed hotel with great staff, beautiful views and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 2 has lovely views over the water and with the window slightly open you can just hear the faint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnAndTony011011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.5 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
8.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kames Hotel

Property: The Kames Hotel
Address: on the Shores of the Kyles of Bute, Tighnabruaich PA21 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Kames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Kames Hotel Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing