We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hillview Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Living room wood burning stove and leather sofa
Living room and dining table
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom view from Kitchen
Conservatory
Bridge over the Allt Dubh stream in front of cottage
Cottage in winter snow
Cottage from West side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaxdaniS
1 review
“Christmas getaway”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were stunned by the beautiful scenery on driving from the ferry terminal.
The views are alpine like.....words cannot describe how breathtaking the vista is.
On the drive to Tighnabruaich we were stunned by the unspolit beauty and sheer magnitude of the mountains.
Hill Cottage is a true gem.....set in the most remarkable spot on the mountain.....we were not expecting just how wonderfully peaceful and idyllic it is.
Peter is very genial and helpful and his concern for our safe arrival and comfort was touching.
On arrival the stove was lit, wood for this and the bedroom fire was in abundance.
The cottage was very clean, cosy and all equipped for a comfortable and romantic break.
Lovely of an evening to eat by candlelight with a nice glass of wine that was waiting for us on arrival.
Equally lovely was eating breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the loch.
We have fallen in love with Hill Cottage, Tighnabruaich and the surrounding area.
The waterfalls surrounding the place are magical.....we really didn't want to leave.
We loved it so much that we have booked for 2 weeks for our holiday this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
It was such a privilege to host Roxanne, Mike, Dara and Rosie, they were superb communicators, considerate and conscientious. So glad to hear they enjoyed the romantic scenic setting and great to hear they will be returning, we very much welcome the opportunity to play host to them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemsgrace...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a wonderful, truly remote cottage which gives a genuine rustic experience. It's so peaceful and a real 'get away from it all' place. The landscape and views are spectacular and if it is too chilly to sit outside, there is a fabulous little conservatory to view the scenery. The land the cottage is set within is great to explore and it's just awesome to have a mountain stream with waterfalls in such close proximity.

You can take walks straight from the cottage door or explore further afield by car. The weather changed frequently while I was there which is all part of the adventure but I was glad I had taken warm and waterproof clothes for all conditions!

The wood burning stove provides heat and hot water and the fire in the main bedroom also provides additional heat if needed. The candle lanterns are a great experience instead of electric lights!

The owner has put a lot of thought and care into the cottage and has provided all the equipment and instructions you need for staying in such a unique place as well as suggestions of what to do and see in the area. He clearly loves the cottage and wants his guests to have the best experience.

If you want a remote and rustic experience, I would highly recommend this fabulous cottage !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness and the scenery.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Rested, relaxed and re-charged”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A truly get-away-from-it-all break! Staying here gives a chance to get a little bit of perspective - you can feel the stress of daily life slip off your shoulders the moment you arrive. A charming cottage with stunning scenery, and the new sun room is a fantastic addition. The owner is thoughtful, and how you enjoy your stay seems genuinely important to him, he clearly has a love for this place. We were glad of our thermals, though once the woodburner's going and the candles are lit it's the cosiest wee place to enjoy good company. Feels adventurous to stay somewhere with no electricity, TV, etc, but creates conversation and making your own entertainment - something that seems to be more of a challenge in this age. This was my third stay and it won't be my last.
Do take warm clothes and waterproofs, especially in the cooler months, and be prepared for the weather to change in the blink of an eye! We had glorious warm sunshine to hailstones, and everything in between, over the course of our four night stay!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No electricity or central heating
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you so much for such a glowing review! So glad you enjoyed yourselves despite the changeable weather. Love how you have summed up the very essence of getting back to basics and escaping into the wilderness, enjoying the pure simple joys of life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod2123
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic! ”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a wonderful cottage, we had a truly great weekend in ldyllic surroundings. No phone and email for a whole three days was marvellous! Weather was not great, but it didn't matter, the cottage was cosy and warm, plenty hot water for candlelit baths after wet walks! Definitely return!Best regards, Roddy and Georgia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anon O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"I'll be back" :) said Arnold”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was temper to title this as "Do NOT stay here - Leave bookings open for my return" lol ... I loved it so much.

Now, four months later, as we are booking another trip we are very tempted to return here.

I like to explore, and finding the source of the water was a joy, stumbling over the stone circle a surprise, and then finding the lithology/strata exposed on some very local outcrops required a bigger memory card for my camera.

Directly next to the path, as you approach the gate, there is a series of waterfalls on the stream, that add nicely to a delicate ambiance, that with the house's bridge over the stream you can explore easier from the far side - near the circle ;)

The house is grand, we made a fire in the lounge each evening, and even twice in the bedroom ... not many places have open fires, even less in the bedroom. Everything was great, not just the teapot :) I don't know if it's a common feature, or only because the owner and I spoke on the phone, or even if intended for us, but the bottle of red in the kitchen on arrival, didn't last long ... It was the squirrels, honest ;) And opening a door in the kitchen, previously Unnoticed, into a second bedroom gave extra baggage space, not that it was needed, the main bedroom giving an abundance of space.

I use cameras, and tech, a lot. No power was going to be a challenge ... but I wanted the tranquillity. I took a travel solar panel with me, thinking to put it outside at noon-ish ... I ended up sitting it in the conservatory, at moon-ish, leaving it there all day/night as it was totally safe, and got so much extra power, that I could have sold it.

I also love a long bath, and finding the one there, in a cottage with no power, was a blessing - the back boiler on the lounge fire worked a treat. There is a gas cooker, fueled from tanks - important if anyone wakes on a cold morning, the heat from a boiling kettle warming the kitchen, before a fire is lit.

Candles, card games, chess (all there already) and cuddles, are the order of the night, until you step outside to moon bathe, star gazing, and listening to nature.

We parked where advised, and walked up the hill, and what a beautiful hill it is. You'll want to stop and admire everything, each time. I had a massive knee operation shortly before this trip, and managed the hill fine, leaving the area much stronger.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79MICH210...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning little setting”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Its set back from the main roads and feels like a standalone wilderness despite being only a few minutes away from civilisation.
Its back to basics no electricity, only logs and gas but like us we're sure you won't want to leave either with its own little steam and idilic setting i'd def stay again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing