We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2009

The Chairman of the company my father and I both work for, took my father and mother to this hotel as a special treat and at the end of their stay, they were given a discount card for a return visit.
I took advantage of this card having the same name as my father and booked my girlfriend and I into a room for a night, a few weeks later and it was fabulous.
It was a really classy hotel and the food was spectacular. The staff were also very attentive but not in the slightest bit annoying or in your face.
The room was spotlessly clean, reasonable in size and beautifully furnished but it was the food which made the trip so good. Real Scottish game type cooking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Scotland but it is rather expensive, which while it keeps out the 'rif-raf' it does dent your wallet.
At night we sat by the fire playing Trival Pursuit and got slowly blootered but we had a smashing time and will definately be going back, nevertheless we could easily have had a weekend in Florence or Venice for the amount we spent on this single night, albeit with the discount. Therefore value for money wise, it was excessive but you get what you pay for and this place was superb.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    130
    28
    20
    8
See reviews for
26
355
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed here at the Easter break and absolutely loved it. Although it looks from the outside like it's going to be another chintzy Highland hotel, inside is smart and stylish with fantastic bedrooms. We had one on the first floor with an amazing view over the Kyles of Bute. Lots of nice toileteries and bathrobes, as well as a wide array of coffee and tea with home made shortbread attached that touch of luxury.

The food was delicious and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. We were late back on Sat night and they assured us we would still get fed even though we were probably way past the official last orders time.

I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed for two nights DBB at the beginning of May.

John on ‘Front of House’ was very friendly – happy to answer any questions and make your stay as relaxing as possible.

The food was delicious. If you are after gastro pub food then this is not for you but the tastes and presentation were the best I have savoured for a long time.

Our room was a Double Superior with a seaview . They have done a good job of modernising the rooms and the uneven surfaces on the walls give them character that so many modern hotels lack.

Best bit about the hotel – the food
Worst bit – having to leave

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This was our second visit, stayed for two nights in a seaview room. Amazing views, large comfy well appointed room. Lovely toiletries, mineral water, fresh fruit shortbread and tea/coffee in the room. Meals to die for. A really well constructed menu with all the tastes and textures complimenting eachother. Breakfasts were also amazing including such choices as devilled kidneys and kedgeree. Hazel and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Cant wait to go back. Thansks

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 96j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2009

fantasic place to stay, staff brilliant, food even better, words cant describe this little bit of heaven

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styddlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Such a wonderful location on an early Spring ? day with the sun out. The food here really is first class, stunning tastes, great presentation and well planned menus. Good wine list, wonderful to see quite a few wines by the glass, and some decent sherries. Efficient and friendly service. One down side i had asked on booking and been assured of a good table for dinner, so why on earth was i given an uninterrupted view of a wall. Breakfast also excellent, wide choice and properly cooked scrambled eggs. The food/dining experience definately carries this hotel. The bedrooms have great views, and many of the little extras, bottled water, ground coffee, good bath products, dvd, etc etc.....but needs a maintenance check. WHB did not drain, cold hot water, ripped wallpaper, and veneer coming off the furniture.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnothernameScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Just back from a two night DBB stay at An Lochan and can't stop raving about it! The food was Michelin star quality, the hotel was quiet, relaxed, and had a lovely atmosphere. With the surrounding views of the Kyles of Bute it made a very special weekend!

We paid for a backroom a were upgraded to a seaview, as soon as we arrived we were offered a seat in the lounge next to the log fire with a coffee, biscuits and paper.
In the evening we had drinks again in fron of the fire, the lights were dimmed and candles burned, making it a very romantic ambience.

The food although not huge portions was the best I've ever tasted, and I left the table feeling satisfied. The breakfast was of equal quality, ranging from kegeree to pheasant and apricot sausages. Unlimited tea, coffee, and even champagne!

Beacuse we stayed for 2 nights we even got a free seafood lunch with wine. This consisted of freshly langoustines, scallops, and fresh salmon. It was amazing!

Don't read the negative reviews.......there talking rubbish. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srodrick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.6 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.9 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Property: The Royal an Lochan
Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing