We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Whilst filming around the area of Tighnabruaich the Royal an Lochan was our base, the evening we arrived they had stopped doing meals but they went to the kitchen and asked the chef if he could rustle something up, which he did in the way of fish and chips, the fish was deep fried in a light and airy beer batter, the fish was fresh everything was spot on, the breakfasts were very filling with cereal,fruit,yoghurt etc followed by a full cooked breakfast and toast or something lighter, overall our stay was excellent, great food, lovely surroundings and scenery to die for, its a big thumbs up from me, i can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you Mike for the lovely review. We cant wait to see the final film, you had a good little group with you. Even though we stop serving food at a certain time, depending on the circumstances our chefs are always happy to rustle up a little something for our guests. We hope to see you in the future. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for The Royal an Lochan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a great weekend! We were looking for somewhere to relax and chill out and that most definitely happened. The food was excellent and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble including the beautiful birthday cake made as birthday surprise. I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mungo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your relaxing weekend. The surprise Birthday cake made by our chef Tom looked so nice you nearly didn't get it, I was tempted to sit in a corner and eat it myself. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you on another Birthday trip! Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Arrived late evening in the dark and rain oblivious to what would greet us in the morning, some of the most stunning scenery I have ever seen.
The owners Keith and Christine have made an art of making you feel welcome, something a lot of more expensive places could learn from.The food, from the bar menu to the restaurant use local produce which make for some stunning dishes, even convincing me to try haggis!
This place is a gem, if you do the Highlands & Islands you have to come here its a no brainer.The combination of hosts, ambience and the stunning views are difficult to beat anywhere in the world for any price.

Room Tip: Face the sea.. you'll see why !!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adl1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are very grateful for such a stunning review at that. Sometimes all the special touches, the ambience and our welcoming staff go unnoticed and it is reviews like yours that make Keith & I stand back and say, all the stress and long hours are really worth it. Thank you once again. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just returned from a totally chilled out weekend stay at the Royal.We were on a budget so we were happy enough to book a rear facing room.A sea facing room would have been spoiled due to the low cloud and rain obscuring the view for most of the weekend.Anyway the rotten weather was never going to spoil the ambiance created by Keith and Christine in their hotel.Food excellent if a little bit pricey.We did,nt mind paying a little extra for quality.Our room was tastefully decorated,warm and comfortable.The bathroom more than adequate.The real bonus was the sea facing sun room where we passed an extremely enjoyable hour with our books and a pint.The owners are extremely sociable and know lots about their adopted homeland.We would have no hesitation in returning to this smashing little hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greengairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for a lovely review, Keith & I are so glad we made you feel at home in our lovely hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully when the weather is a little better. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am a little late posting this review,having been travelling since I returned.
It was my first Hogmanay north of the border and a thoroughly enjoyable one.
I Have friends close by the Royal and have stayed there 4 times so far and certainly will again.
It is comfortable welcoming and beautifully situated,with very good food[I have entertained my local friends there each time I have stayed].
Hope to see you again in the not to distant future.
Philip Bent.

Room Tip: Do get a room overlooking the kyle,what a view to wake up to.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Mr Bent, thank you for taking time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our Hogmanay hospitality as much as your other stays. As always we look forward to your next stay with us. kind regards, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I spent a good break at the Royal over New Year. The Shinty bar was a lovely wee place with a roaring fire and some great beers.
We had a front facing room with lovely views.
Overall a very nice break.

Room Tip: Front rooms have excellent views
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogweed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hogmanay is a lovely time of year and the Scott's know how to celebrate, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and as you say the views from our front facing rooms are lovely. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have stayed at Royal An Lochan 4-5 times. Including once with our dog and once with very experienced traveller friends from London. We travel extensively in Scotland and abroad and I can honestly say it is one of my favourite hotels and locations.
The hotel is very comfortable, like staying at a generous friend's house. The owners and staff are high profile, helpful and polite. The rooms are clean, warm and views to die for no matter what the weather. The lunches and dinner are fantastic standard and you are within walking distance of lots of other places to eat. I'm not sure what axe to grind the "Honeymoon" reviewers had but I could not disagree more with their awful review. We'll be back - soon I hope.

Room Tip: Really worth having sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We like to think we are a home from home or as you write in your review "a generous friend's house", we try to make each guest feel at home in the hotel. It is nice to hear we are one of your favourite hotels and in one of your favourite locations. Tighnabruaich is a truly beautiful village on a forgotten shore line. We like to make the most of the local seafood available to us, along with produce from a well known butcher on Bute, just across the water. We are glad to hear you like staying with us time and time again and we look forward to your next stay. Thank you for a lovely review. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
7.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
451 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
120 reviews
23.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,478 reviews
8.3 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range: $115 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing