We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Royal an Lochan in September 2013. The location is magic and waking up to the view from the loch is something out of a fairy tale. The food was fantastic and the service received during dinner was what "attention to detail" is all about. Our waiter also had some excellent recommendations regarding local sights with the highlight being the secret beach that is not even maped and is only known to the local residents (must be visited).

Rooms were clean and looked after.

Would definitely recommend for couples or anyone who is seeking a couple of days of relaxation away from the city. This place is a hidden gem

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and pay supplement if you have to. Definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinosEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    131
    28
    20
    8
See reviews for
27
360
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay on a wet and cold Sunday in November. Lovely worm welcome and given a tour on arrival. We were early but were given the option of a drink until check in time. The bar is small but you get a decent pint and again good service. The room we had was large and decent. The hotel is clearly a work in progress but the changes that have been made are working well. The fires in the lounge, books and board games are a great way to relax. Best part of the stay was the meal. Haven't had better all year. Outstanding food. But put the heating on a bit in the restaurant please!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyboston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our third visit in as many years. this hotel and its staff are always a welcoming delight. Spacious bedroom with huge bathroom and beautiful views across the bay, a good hearty Scottish breakfast to start each day, warm evenings in front of one of the many open fires followed by delightful food in restaurant. The hotel and staff made my birthday extra special, many thanks, will be back again soon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are a very high standard, sea view rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmyfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Myself and the staff are so glad you enjoyed another birthday at our hotel. Mind, next year if we have an Indian summer in October I am not sure the fires will be on in the lounge!! We have you pencilled in for next year, see you then. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Went there with another couple based on their previous experience of the place and also other friends waxing lyrical about the hotel. The rooms were lovely with beautiful views and comfortable beds. The staff were excellent and couldn't have been friendlier and more attentive. The breakfast I thought was a bit disappointing with basically half portions of everything, half a potato scone, half a slice of black pudding etc. The couple with us expressed their disappointment as well and stated that the last time they were here it was a more substantial breakfast with a far greater choice. Similarly the evening meal was good but a bit below expectations based on friends reviews.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank mcadamwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
'Not what it was?????' as we had no record of your friends previous stay we can not confirm whether they are comparing us to the previous owners. We purchased the hotel in July 2010 and over the last 3+ years have turned it in to a friendly and comfortable home from home, which we feel you experienced. With regard to your comment on the breakfast portions, we have to admit you are not the first to mention this, so we have now reverted back to a whole slice of haggis, black pudding and potato scone. Once again thank you for your review. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent three nights at the Royal an Lochan and would like to thank the manager, David, for his friendly manner. We were however disappointed about several aspects of our stay - the restaurant food was pitiful in portion size, we were not allowed to choose anything from the bar menu to eat in the restaurant, the ridiculous rule about not being allowed to bring your own bottle of wine into your room without being charged corkage, and the fact that before breakfast time in the mornings it was not possible to access any of the public areas to even sit in the lounge and read. Unfortunately, it was not David who checked us in when we arrived so we did not have a feeling of being welcome which probably coloured our view of the hotel generally.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and your compliments to David. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped, maybe if you had made your feelings felt during your stay or even upon departure we may have been able to discuss these with you and explain why we have such 'rules'.
With reference to our Bar Menu and Restaurant Menu, these are totally different menus, one designed and priced to be consumed in the bar, your typical Fish & Chips or Burger and Chips, the other Restaurant Menu is designed to be a dining experience, with white table linen, candles and specially designed dishes. We therefore would not serve Fish & Chips in the Restaurant next to a guest eating a Trio of Lamb, consisting of char-grilled cutlet, slow braised flank and a mini shepherds pie served with dauphinoise potatoes, carrots, romanesco and a rosemary jus.
As you walked around the hotel you would probably have enjoyed and commented on our various pieces of Scottish art work on our walls. These pieces of art need to be insured and a clause of that insurance is that the doors to the lounge and restaurant be locked whilst reception and the hotel is closed, hence before your 8.30am breakfast. We have therefore placed a bench seat in the reception for those wishing an earlier start away from the other half.
I hope this has explained a few of your 'disappointments'. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

An excellent hotel, with outstanding food. We paid the 'sea view' supplement which was well worth it. Superb views of the 'Kyles of Bute' despite the weather! Largest bathroom we've had in any hotel. The open fires in the lounge are a welcome touch at this time of year. It is good to see the present owners working hard to make a success of this hotel, and taking advantage of its very good location. We thought the evening meals alone were worth the stay. The portions were just right for a three course meal. Would definitely recommend....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, what more can we say! Good food, good service, good location, that is us, and to top it all off we provided a rainbow just for you and your camera! We very much look forward to welcoming you back, although we will try to do something about the weather for you. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The owner and staff were friendly and welcoming. The menu offered a good choice and the food was well presented. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Having a table by the window overlooking the loch added to our enjoyment of the evening. We'd certainly be happy to eat in this restaurant again, if we return to Tighnabruaich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Lightbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and that the window table was an added delight, although I would like to mention that most of our restaurant tables not located next to the window still have good views of the Kyles of Bute. Watching the sunset lighting up the Isle of Bute can be so dramatic. We look forward to welcoming you back should you find your way to Tighnabruaich again. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.6 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
264 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.9 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
425 reviews
23.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Property: The Royal an Lochan
Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing