We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic location, great food & views but pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A warm and charming welcome set the tone for our visit. This is a rustic hotel & looks very much just like a pub from the outisde but the restaurant is smart with lovely food both for dinner & breakfast.

The room rate was fairly eye watering but works out better as a Dinner Bed & Breakfast rate which you should specify when you book in advance as it was just an extra £45 on top of the room rate for both of us for a very delicious 3 course meal. I notified the hotel in advance that I don't eat fish or meat & enquired on arrival again to find they had several gorgeous vegetarian choices to offer me which would not have been on the standard menu.

If you are not a fan of updated Scottish traditional food (ie game/fish/meat with a light touch) I'm sure they will accommodate you very well with advance warning.

Our room was charming & comfortable with dual aspect windows overlooking the loch opposite - stunning. Don't be put off by the fact there is a small road between the hotel & loch. We barely saw 2 or 3 cars in the couple of hours we spent sitting on the roadside terrace having a few drinks from the bar.

It's maybe a 5 - 10 minute stroll to the tiny centre of Tighnabruich. Thank goodness we booked dinner at our hotel as the only restaurant in the town was closed that evening and if you eat at the hotel restaurant without prebooking the DB&B rate, it works out a lot more expensive.

This if for you if you'd like comfort & good food in a secluded village with unspoilt scenery in a very quiet corner of stunning Argyll, but at a price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibellius2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for you review, if guests phone through a booking we can offer Dinner, Bed & Breakfast as an option but unfortunately the commission on DBB through booking sites proves too expensive.
Nearly all of our dishes are cooked from the raw ingredients which enables us to accommodate most dietary requirements, having said that we do need a heads up and can not 'whip' something up when we have a busy restaurant.
You are right indeed the road in front of the hotel is very quiet and at night with the window open all you can hear is the lapping of the waves.
We do hope you come back to stay with us, phone us direct and we could offer a night on DBB and one on B&B if you chose. Thank you once again. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are just back from a two night stay at The Royal and we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel which is in a top location. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. The food was top notch and the owners and staff made us feel very welcome. The only negative would be that the bathroom could do with a little bit of TLC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for a good review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. With regard to your bathroom, we are slowly working our way through the bedrooms and bathrooms updating and re-decorating. We look forward to welcoming you back. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed in Tighnabruaich many times and the Royal has been a regular haunt. The rooms are a good size and many have wonderful views of the Kyles and Bute itself. The staff were freindly and attentive without being fussy. The food is of a very high standard, including home made extras like fudge and oatcakes.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank richardk078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for coming back to stay with us on a number of occasions. We are so glad you like us and the area, there is something magical about the Cowal Peninsula.
I do have a confession though, we do not make our own oatcakes, we do make our fudge served with your after dinner coffee and we do make our own shortbread for the rooms, and near enough everything else but the oatcakes are Arran Oaties. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely hotel. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We paid extra for a sea view and the view from the room was stunning! Would recommend paying the extra £30. Food is well presented but limited if you don't like fish and quite pricey in relation to the hotel. 3 course meal will set you back roughly £80 including wine for two people expensive prices more in relation to a 4 or 5 star hotel. Rooms tired, clean but basic and needing a revamp. Overall staff lovely, views beautiful, food tasty but all in all overpriced for what you get. hidden extra is the £10 corkage if you have wine in your room !! Ridiculous and unnecessary charge.

Room Tip: Sea view Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieb852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. The menu in our Deck Restaurant offers a number of starters and main courses of duck, chicken, lamb as well as trout and our shellfish which is our speciallity, can I also point out that our food and drinks are priced competitively with local establishments of the same quality and I am sure a bottle of wine and a three course meal in a 4 or 5 star hotel will cost a bit more than £80, were you to have similar dishes. However we are glad you enjoyed your break but would like tocomment on your reference to the cork-age charge, it is not 'hidden' it is at the bottom of your registration form that you sign when you arrive at the hotel and also in your room folder where we explain why we charge for it. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A rare chance to get away. This hotel sets itself in the luxury market and costs about half of a trip to really famous luxury hotel it is not half as good. The rooms are clean and comfortable and some have stunning sea views.
The food is pretencious as is the maitre D.
I ignored many of the poor food reviews as I love Tighnabruaich however they proved very accurate. The single portobello mushroom was still a lone small fungus. The mussels were very salty and the scallops while delicious only came with the chorizo slices.
The cheese board £10 for 2 came with 6 mini oatcakes and a few grapes no crackers etc.
The couple next us raised issues about the mussels and the scanty scallop dish. I had asked for vegetables and extra bread when my dish arrived.The young waiter had sorted promptly.
I gave my support the the gentleman at the next table who was dismissed out of hand by the head waiter. " We have never had a complaint before".The hotel states to pride itself on service, therefore I asked if the owner was available to discuss the disappointinng meal. I was told he was in the kitchen but neither he nor his wife bothered to come to the front of house.
The young inexperienced waiting staff were keen to help and do their best.
The breakfast was saved by tasty eggs benedict.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C6651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

In this trade we find there are some guests who you just cant please, which can be very frustrating as our staff will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our room rates and food prices are comparable to other local establishments of the same quality.
With regard to the mussels I have been reliably told that your table and one close by were both sat at the same time and both your starters were served at the same time, the other table loved their mussels and said they were the best they had ever had, both mussel starter dishes were cooked at the same time in the same pan! It shows it is purely down to personal taste.
Keith was indeed in the kitchen working and I was quite unwell at the time, which is why we have our Managers to take on any issues that arise and I am sure David would have dealt with your complaint in the same way either Keith or I would have. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent two night here and it was wonderful from start to finish. We paid extra for a room with a view over the loch and it was certainly worth it, even although the weather was a bit on the dreich side. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent, although not a lot of choice if you stay for more than a couple of nights and don't like seafood. The staff were very attentive and friendly. All in all, a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We certainly recommend a sea view room, the views up and down the Kyles of Bute are to die for even on a dreich day (for the English speakers, that is a rainy, drizzly, dark day!) Myself, Keith and the staff are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on a sunnier day. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had booked a cottage in the area and went along here for dinner, wasnt disappointed! very well presented and delicious! would probably stay here next time, looked a lovely hotel and staff were very pleasant too, cant praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank teenyfaetroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review, we very much look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Chritsine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.7 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
288 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
472 reviews
8.3 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
283 reviews
16.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range: $105 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing