We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have chosen better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Every so often you come across an outstanding hotel and this certainly applies to the Royal an Lochen. The location is superb and a sea facing room is well worth the supplement. Our room on the second floor was spacious, very comfortable and well furnished. All staff were outgoing and did everything possible to ensure an enjoyable stay. Dinner was excellent and how nice to be presented with an interesting menu and wine list. Combine this with well spaced tables and lovely sea views then you have a winner. The spacious public rooms are modernly furnished and make a lovely spot to read a book or enjoy coffee after Dinner. Another bonus is to have a separate public bar which gives the opportunity of sampling some good real beer and mix with the locals. Come rain or shine this is a place we want to return to for a few days rather than just an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the stunning Kyles of Bute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndabaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 481 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

My Husband and I stayed for 2nights on a DBB deal. The drive from Glasgow was spectacular and the views didn't end there - as soon as we booked in we were shown to our seaview room which does exactly as it says on the tin - and some! The room had a lovely bay window overlooking the Kyles of Bute with 2 little seats positioned at the window so we promptly put our feet up and enjoyed the view. We then went down to the conservatory lounge for afternoon coffee and scone - delicious and very nicely presented. Dinner on both nights was fabulous, so fresh and a great choice. Breakfast was a feast and set us up for the day - no need for lunch! The hotel layout is great. We both felt this was the most relaxing hotel we have been to. After dinner we sat on the big comfy couches beside the fire in the lounge and helped ourselves to the huge selection of books and magazines - we really felt this was a great home from home. Christine and Keith both took time to chat to us and we felt they really cared for their guests. We felt like very welcomed guests in their home rather than a room number in a hotel. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and really made our stay memorable. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a seaview room with bay window - fantastic views over the Kyles of Bute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from a one-night stay. We wish we had arranged to stay longer. The hotel justifiably gets rave reviews from the majority of TA contributors. The food was amazing, the room perfect, the scenery out of this world and the friendliness and professionalism of Keith, Christine and Jodie second to none. Will we return, what do you think? Matthew and Barbara Chisholm, Rhu, Argyll.

Room Tip: room 6 with windows on 2 sides is large and affords excellent 180 degree views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidbanger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just back from a nights stay at the Royal an Lochan. Was mine and my husband's first anniversary and we could not have spent it in a more stunning place. The room was lovely and the food was out of this world, we were so impressed. The staff were amazing and so helpful, did not get the lovely ladies name who was front of house but she could not have been more obliging so thanks and we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for your good review. Keith, the Staff and I work hard at making each and every guest feel at home and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our front of house staff are Andrea, Gabi and Jodie along with Keith and myself, I shall pass on your comments to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for your second anniversary or maybe sooner! Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

OK, the weather could have been warmer and the midges could have stayed away, but our weekend in Tighnabruich was fantastic thanks to the owners, staff and kitchen at the An Lochan.
We were personally taken up to our room by the owner. We had a room on the corner of the builiding so 2 windows in the bedroom and one in the bathroom meant we had really fantastic views over and up the Kyles of Bute. Wee touches in the bedroom enhanced our stay. We enjoyed sitting in the arm chairs looking out over the loch, sipping Earl Grey tea from bone china mugs and nibbling home made shortbread. The bathroom was nicely finished in grey tiles and we were pleased to find the waffle bathrobes in the wardrobe. There are lots of public spaces with roaring fires and bookshelves of books and DVDs to borrow - yes the bedroom has a DVD player also. We were thrilled to find the restaurant has a creative chef who among many other skills catches fresh makerel off the pier and prepares them for dinner. Really good seafood on the menu along with a good range of other dishes. The desserts are superb and the wine list is very good and reasonably priced. The staff we met were all very friendly and professional and the owners enure they get to know their guests and offer a warm welcome. We certainly hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, and with regard to your comment about the little touches and bone china mugs, tea just doesn't taste the same without a china mug, do you not agree? We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you again. Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here 13-15th April 2012, and 15th April is now a date etched in my memory, as we got engaged on the way home, hence my incredible delay at writing this review, as its all been wedding wedding wedding since then :D

We had a fantastic weekend, our room was lovely, with an enormous bathroom! The views are amazing, as the hotel sits right on the water. On the Saturday, we went quad biking and clay pigeon shooting at Quadmania in Dunoon, thoroughly recommend it. We took a trip to Portavadie, as recommended by the hotel, and enjoyed hot chocolate and a cake to while away the afternoon. Dinner on both nights was beautiful, the food was fantastic. And the hotel provide board games, DVDs and books for your entertainment. Our entertainment of choice was Monopoly, and I won haha!

There isnt much to do in Tighnabruiach itself, but it would be good for cycling, and its a lovely base for the surrounding areas. Only downside is the single track road, but hey, its like a free rollercoaster ride :D

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorilainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Royal has undergone another transformation. Its worked. We had lunch. It was excellent. And they ve got the prices right too. Quality ingredients , well prepared and imaginatively served outside looking down the Kyle towards the sleeping warrior. Washed down with a pint of Highlander, Scotland s finest ale. Tremendous. Staff were friendly too. Its a destination again. All good .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.7 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
285 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
465 reviews
3.8 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range: $100 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing