We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, great views and superb owners and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal an Lochan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great views and superb owners and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

OK, the weather could have been warmer and the midges could have stayed away, but our weekend in Tighnabruich was fantastic thanks to the owners, staff and kitchen at the An Lochan.
We were personally taken up to our room by the owner. We had a room on the corner of the builiding so 2 windows in the bedroom and one in the bathroom meant we had really fantastic views over and up the Kyles of Bute. Wee touches in the bedroom enhanced our stay. We enjoyed sitting in the arm chairs looking out over the loch, sipping Earl Grey tea from bone china mugs and nibbling home made shortbread. The bathroom was nicely finished in grey tiles and we were pleased to find the waffle bathrobes in the wardrobe. There are lots of public spaces with roaring fires and bookshelves of books and DVDs to borrow - yes the bedroom has a DVD player also. We were thrilled to find the restaurant has a creative chef who among many other skills catches fresh makerel off the pier and prepares them for dinner. Really good seafood on the menu along with a good range of other dishes. The desserts are superb and the wine list is very good and reasonably priced. The staff we met were all very friendly and professional and the owners enure they get to know their guests and offer a warm welcome. We certainly hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, and with regard to your comment about the little touches and bone china mugs, tea just doesn't taste the same without a china mug, do you not agree? We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you again. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    128
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
25
347
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here 13-15th April 2012, and 15th April is now a date etched in my memory, as we got engaged on the way home, hence my incredible delay at writing this review, as its all been wedding wedding wedding since then :D

We had a fantastic weekend, our room was lovely, with an enormous bathroom! The views are amazing, as the hotel sits right on the water. On the Saturday, we went quad biking and clay pigeon shooting at Quadmania in Dunoon, thoroughly recommend it. We took a trip to Portavadie, as recommended by the hotel, and enjoyed hot chocolate and a cake to while away the afternoon. Dinner on both nights was beautiful, the food was fantastic. And the hotel provide board games, DVDs and books for your entertainment. Our entertainment of choice was Monopoly, and I won haha!

There isnt much to do in Tighnabruiach itself, but it would be good for cycling, and its a lovely base for the surrounding areas. Only downside is the single track road, but hey, its like a free rollercoaster ride :D

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorilainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Royal has undergone another transformation. Its worked. We had lunch. It was excellent. And they ve got the prices right too. Quality ingredients , well prepared and imaginatively served outside looking down the Kyle towards the sleeping warrior. Washed down with a pint of Highlander, Scotland s finest ale. Tremendous. Staff were friendly too. Its a destination again. All good .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel, using a voucher. The drive from my home in central Scotland should have taken 2.5 hrs though our journey was double that as we took a scenic route and a couple of stops. Lots of single track roads to negotiate, great fun.
The hotel sits on the edge of the loch and looks out over the Isle of Bute. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was elegant and the a la carte menu offered a variety of local produce. The one thing missing was a vegetarian option but I feel confident that t he owners would have made every effort to accomodate dietary needs on request. Breakfast was very good and offered a variety of cooked options. Well worth the price we paid.
The location is beautiful and if you like walking or even just driving there are lots of places to visit and explore.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bay window rooms which allow you to sit and look out over the magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Took a 3 night break here as a base for a nearby weddingand would come again, wedding or not. Great light and airy room overlooking the Kyles, comfortable lounge ditto. Excellent food particularly the fish. Real friendly welcome and helpful service from all the staff, particularly when one of the party fell ill. Very peaceful location. Just need to sort out the workings of the TV at that crucial time of the football season.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarleygreenSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nice hotel for a couple of ngihts...Bedrooms tastefully decorated and food was excellent. Lovely position overlooking Kyles of Bute. Only complaint was serivce in dining room was a bit slow as they were short staffed. Lounge area was lovely with plenty of reading material and nice candles were lit in the evening. overall a nice break. (just a pity about the weather)

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor as its quite a treck up and down to third floor!..Some rooms have bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for just one night on 31/3/12 stay at the Royal. Wish it could have been for longer. Hope to do it again sometime.

We had a lovely bright & spacious sea facing room on the first floor, lovely food and lovely weather for our visit.

We arrived just before 4pm and promptly ordered some drinks from the bar. We were served by Keith the owner, who was busy setting up the fire in the bar with logs and kindling. He was very pleasant to us, and did not come across at all like the person some people have described in previous reviews. That might say more about the reviewers though, lol.

We took our drinks to the beer garden at the front of the hotel. When this area went in to shade it was still sunny across the road at the shoreline, so we took our drinks over to the slipway and skimmed stones with not a care in the world.

We had pre-dinner drinks in a really nice area with leather settees looking out across the water and got to meet Keith's wife Christine. She is a lovely open and honest person and really looks after her customers. I do hope the plants have benefited from our discussion Christine!

Dinner was served in the modern Deck Restaurant. My husband didn't like what he had ordered for his main course (his fault, not the Hotel's) and Christine changed it without any qualms. I had langoustines followed by duck, then the cheeseboard - all delicious, but I did think the cheeseboard portion was a bit miserable. Hubbie had tempura squid, sorry can't remember his second choice main and some fab dessert, and he was very happy with this.

Breakfast next morning was served in a different sea facing & bright room, with gleaming cutlery & white starched tablecloths. We had the works and did not need to eat again until the evening. My husband adored the spiced apricots. If you read this Christine - what's the recipe?

I just keep wanting to call everything here lovely. I think I may have used that word too often in this review, but it's true. Our wee night away was just what we needed to recharge the batteries. Two nights would have been even better!

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.5 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.9 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
8.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal an Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Property: The Royal an Lochan
Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tighnabruaich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
The Royal An Lochan Tighnabruaich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing