We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy place for lunch on a rainy day”
Review of The Barn - CLOSED

The Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Soups, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cosy place for lunch on a rainy day”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The atmosphere in this cafe was warm and homely and staff were welcoming. We enjoyed bowls of cullen skink followed by slices of homemade cake and coffees.
Certainly worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Lightbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very good food and warm staff. At last a menu with a bit of imagination and reasonably priced into the bargain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very enjoyable afternoon tea with our kids, who enjoyed running around the garden! The staff are friendly and accommodating and it's a great for home baking!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MS3W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tighnabruaich, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Seafood Tapas”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Amazing meal in a fantastic atmosphere! We had 10 people in our party on a Friday eve. The service was fast and friendly and food was great! Such choice...we had everything on the menu and we all swapped and shared, making for a really relaxed friendly atmosphere. Staff are so attentive and nothing is too much trouble.Recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had two visits with a toddler who enjoyed the play corner very much. Such a great idea, especially for rainy days. The staff were most helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxed, great with an active toddler.
Also loved the wood burner.
We loved the home baking, Stornaway black pudding rolls and the home made quiche.
Will definitely return.
Great value too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FisherMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing