We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn - CLOSED

The Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Soups, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived in cold, wet weather with a baby and a toddler. The welcome was warm, friendly and enthusiastic. Grandparents, mum and dad and children were offered the Snug with table, settee, toys and a carefully guarded log-burner. This was ideal as it provided a relaxed environment for us all. Food was first rate and service second to none. A big thank you from us - we will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sunday breakfast with hot bread”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went on Sunday 12 th of may for breakfast , a full breakfast we ordered wasn't the best n no beans or tomatoes , sausage good black pudding lovely , egg cooked at high temp so way over cooked like the potato scone n the toast well it was bread that was hot n not toasted . Price as most places in tignabruaich over priced for what u get, funny all the business ,s complain how quiet it is but yet still charge way to much, tea was lovely hot n strong , scones that we took away were good but at £1.80 each they shud be ridiculous price for a scone with no butter or jam , didn't realise till I,d paid how much a scone was. The barm is a lovely place but yesterday unlike last time it looked like girls day out for the staff . Will I go back prob will they serve me wait n see.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good lunch, best around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Have enjoyed several good lunches here, staff always pleasant, several nice seating areas to chill out in, surroundings very pleasant....lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped in for a warming cuppa on an extremely cold spring day. Sat in a lovely wee room with comfy couch and roaring log-burner. Very welcoming, chatty but not intrusive, staff. Had the best scone I've had in years and when I complimented the baker she came out for a chat and ended up giving me the recipe which I've tried and though my efforts are not yet as good, they have real potential.
Great coffee and my husband had an exceptional lemon drizzle cake.Lovely views from the gardens and a small but interesting gift shop.
We plan on trying lunch or dinner next as the menu looks really interesting.
Really can't recommend enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mairi4416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Tighnabruaich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've had the pleasure of visiting The Barn on a couple of occasions now and, as regular visitors to Tighnabruaich, we plan to visit many more times.
The food really is the best around, even the so-called fine dining 'competition' can't match it for quality and portion size. Haggis croquettes and the black pudding, goats' cheese and red onion marmalade are to die for and there are loads of lovely other items on the menu.
Service is also outstanding, very friendly without being intrusive, and we were lucky enough to get a lift home from one of the wonderful staff :)
All in all I just can't fault this place. Well worth seeking out and a place you'll want to return to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing