We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scone ever”
Review of The Barn - CLOSED

The Barn
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best scone ever”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Scones here homemade the jam homemade staff wow best scone ever Cummings back for more. Local crafts were gd

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best home made scone we have had in a long time.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just poped in for afternoon tea and had a cracking fruit scone with a pot of tea. The whole place was very good with good views of the local area from their conservatory. The menu looked well worth a try, next time a lunch stop I think. A small snug with a real fire for a cold day was avalible. A smale but very select, selection of gifts were also avalible.Very good service with some advice on a walk to the local beach with stunning views.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet ...”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely to come across this gem of a cafe whilst on holiday, nice coffees, great for the kids, friendly staff. We liked it. A lot. We'll probably go back soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LawsDors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs to improve in some areas.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The best mussels I have had in a long time but.....1) white wine should be served chilled not at room temperature. We were not the only people with this complaint. 2) The fish stew was more like soup, no idea which fish were used in it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DUNFCPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food in a great wee place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Called in when home for the weekend. Excellent food at reasonable prices. Really good selection on the menu. Husband thoroughly enjoyed his home-made chocolate Swiss-roll. Strange to see the place as somewhere to eat instead of where we used to keep the animals. Will try the supper club next time we are up if we get a chance as the menu looked outstanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing