We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, locally sourced food”

The Royal an Lochan Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality, locally sourced food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A great meal, all of it fresh and locally sourced, and cooked to a very high standard, served in a lovely setting. There are good options on the menu and the only problem is deciding what to have.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Homer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Many guests comment on our good menu choice, we try to keep it all as local and fresh as possible, however in doing this we can not offer a vast range of dishes. We feel a choice of 5-6 starter dishes, 7 main courses and a choice of 3 desserts and or a cheese board, gives enough variety for most of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    10
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Food us pricey but delicious. We have stayed in the hotel twice and the restaurant food is wonderful. They also do some gastropub level food in the bar.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gizasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for another good review about our hotel and our food. Having two distinctly different menus means that you, the guest, can treat yourself to a restaurant meal one night and a bar meal the other, just like have done in the past. No doubt we will see you back again sometime in 2014. Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cracking Fish n Chips...yum yum”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had lunch in the shinty bar attached to The Royal an Lochan, I had the fish which was beautiful and cooked to perfection along with hand cut chips and peas, thouroughly enjoyed both the meal and the chat from behind the bar, very welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I must admit our fish & chips are very popular in the bar. I am glad the bar staff kept you chatting, or was it me? I can talk forever! Many thanks, Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A hotel in summer season which doesn't do a traditional Sunday Lunch ??? Nice location and friendly staff and value for money but the menu lacked somewhat and sadly involved mainly deep or pan fried options which were not suitable for medical low fat diets ! The presentation of the food basic and could have been better, just lettuce on the plate, no cucumber, tomatoes etc which would cost little but improve much. The pudding looked deliciouis though and were enjoyed by those who had them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathyroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and ate in the restaurant both nights.
The menu is not massive, but as they freshly cooking locally sourced food, it would be impossible to have a larger choice without compromising quality.
Between us, my wife and I had the following dishes:

Wood pigeon
Scallops
Portobello mushrooms
Chicken, potato and mushroom soup - this was an extra, not on the menu.
Duck Breast
Chicken Breast
Trout
Cranachan
Cheese board

We found them all to be high quality, well cooked, well presented and most importantly very tasty!!
If we had to pick, our highlights were the scallops, trout, wood pigeon, duck breast and the cheese board.
Portion sizes were just right - left the table feeling comfortable.
Served by attentive friendly staff and there was an excellent wine list.
All this coupled with the view over the loch meant that all in all an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauloeric07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal an Lochan Restaurant also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Royal an Lochan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing