We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very elegant setting inside with breathtaking views”

The Royal an Lochan Restaurant
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very elegant setting inside with breathtaking views”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Special meal out with my husband here in November. We both went for 3 courses followed by a local whiskey (4 page menu of whiskey options!) Food delicious, staff very attentive and friendly taking time to talk to you, setting and views out of the window gorgeous!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank taba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    10
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PRESTON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice hotel”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

good food will stay in the future sometime friendly staff clean and well maintained.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, freshly prepared”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The food at the Royal An Lochan is fabulous and simply delicous. There is a good choice for all courses with a good mix of different meats on offer, I'm not keen on sea food but still had plenty of other dishes to choose from. The portions were a good size, and we cetainly did not leave feeling hungry- far from it!! We both had a steak for our main course on the first night, no steak knife required, my husband even ordered the same the second night he was so impressed! Most of the food served is locally sourced and very fresh. The service was very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The only thing I was a little unsure about was the apple and rosemary creme brulee, I found the rosemary flavour a little strong for my taste, but the presentation was excellent and the shortbread served with it was lovely.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIncardine on Forth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent food well prepared, cooked to order, locally sourced produce, the hot and cold smoked salmon starter was amazing and the cheese board shouldn't be missed. Good value for money with a very good wine list.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great choice of food”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Fine dining or great bar food - all freshly prepared using locally sourced produce.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal an Lochan Restaurant also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Colintraive, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Royal an Lochan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing