We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, freshly prepared”

The Royal an Lochan Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, freshly prepared”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The food at the Royal An Lochan is fabulous and simply delicous. There is a good choice for all courses with a good mix of different meats on offer, I'm not keen on sea food but still had plenty of other dishes to choose from. The portions were a good size, and we cetainly did not leave feeling hungry- far from it!! We both had a steak for our main course on the first night, no steak knife required, my husband even ordered the same the second night he was so impressed! Most of the food served is locally sourced and very fresh. The service was very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The only thing I was a little unsure about was the apple and rosemary creme brulee, I found the rosemary flavour a little strong for my taste, but the presentation was excellent and the shortbread served with it was lovely.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    10
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KIncardine on Forth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent food well prepared, cooked to order, locally sourced produce, the hot and cold smoked salmon starter was amazing and the cheese board shouldn't be missed. Good value for money with a very good wine list.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great choice of food”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Fine dining or great bar food - all freshly prepared using locally sourced produce.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The best seafood”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Having been recommend to me I took 3 very discerning friends who love their seafood to dine here in August. All of tried something different and we all agreed - seafood at it´s best.
Excellent presentation of the dishes and a very good and reasonably priced wine selection made for a memorable evening. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Long Drive, Big Disappointment”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Three friends and I drove about 60 miles to get to An Lochan as we had read several reviews about the delicious food. We had not realised that the place has changed hands and the new owners are CERTAINLY not what the previous owners had been in terms of creative and good food.When we arrived (on a Sunday lunchtime) the restaurant was completely empty (later some Austrian fishermen wandered in). The food was mediocre to poor but at Good Food Guide/Michelin prices. I had fishpie - OK pub standard if a little bland (my own is better). As an afterthought some carrots and peas had been dumped on the plate - just boiled. Nothing fancy (or tasty).
We had langoustines to start. Three were dumped on a plate with some aoli from a jar.
One of our party had chips with his meal. Chips should be crispy on the outside and soft in the middle (double fried - we had wonderful chips many times in Scotland). These were just soggy and flaccid. We asked if the hotel had been refurbished - we were told that nothing had been touched for the past couple of years. All of us were VERY disappointed: it was not even good pub grub, just poor restaurant food. It made us doubt the truth of the guide books who praised it - but I guess they had praised the efforts of the departed owners. The new owners need to work out if they want to be a ho hum pub restaurant, or somewhere people will come to be wowed. The bar needs to be raised by a couple of miles.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshiremanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal an Lochan Restaurant also viewed

Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Colintraive, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Royal an Lochan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing