We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Taynuilt Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$111
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taychreggan Hotel(Kilchrenan)
$225
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$180
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
$157
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
224
75
13
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
75
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching innamuse bouchethe general managersuperior roomsteakposter bedreceived a very warm welcomeeggs benedictcourse mealsourdough breadice creamhigh standardamazing foodfirst classloch etivefront of housegenerous portions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 320 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Spent 2 nights here and enjoyed stay. Rooms are very clean and well appointed, everything was of a good quality. Recently decorated in a tasteful way.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our stay was during the recent hot spell and we spent some time in the'beer garden' This could do with a little upgrading. Food was of a high standard but little choice for those of us who do not like meat or pastry. Difficult to choose meal on second night. A few pasta or fish options would have helped. Menu did not change and catch of the day was finished at 6:30 and not on second night. While quality was good prices were high and choice limited.

Room Tip: Traffic noise during night. Steep stairs to second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for our wedding anniversary, having chosen it due to the reviews on trip advisor.

Received a warm welcome from staff at reception and were taken to our room which was on the top floor of the hotel. This was ideal for us as we like the fact there is nobody above. We also appeared to be above the public bar area which concerned us slightly especially as there was a tv in there showing the football and we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, however there was no need to worry as we never heard a thing. The bed was huge and very comfortable, shower was excellent and we had a very comfortable stay.

We visited the bar when we arrived and again the staff were very welcoming. A handful of locals came in whilst we there to watch the football which we were happy to do also and we had a pleasant afternoon. We were aware that the hotel sponsored the local shinty team who would be in on the Saturday so we decided to give the bar area a miss the next night, only because we were looking for a quieter night.

We booked our dinner for 6.30 on the first night and were rushing to get ready in time but it was very relaxed and on going down to the restaurant we were asked to go the lounge area where we ordered a drink and were given menus before our order was taken and we had 15 minutes or so before we were taken through to the dining room, lovely start to our evening. We had booked quiet early and there was only one other couple in the dining room initially which was lacking in atmosphere, however that soon changed as it got busier.

The portions were huge and we had soup and pate for starters which were excellent. My husband had the braised beef pie, veg and mash which he raved about, so much so I ordered it the next night and it was delicious. I had the steak on the first night which was cooked exactly as I ordered but I was slightly disappointed with my chips, I felt they were slightly greasy however it didn't stop me eating them and the next night my husbands portion were lovely. The sticky toffee pudding is also delicious.

Breakfast was good quality, and the coffee was piping hot.

As we imagined the public bar was busy on the Saturday and was a bit too lively for us, but we were happy to stay in the cosy lounge for a few drinks.

All in all a lovely weekend in lovely surroundings with very good food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leaveittome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights, warm welcome on arrived, great first impressions whilst been shown around.

The room was homely, clean and a good size!

Lovely guest lounge with comfortable surroundings with a great selection of drams ( knowledge staff took her time to chat and explain a lot of them - very much appreciated and made us feel welcome).

Dined from all menus at the restaurant, all food was served piping hot and on hot plates (my parter struggled to eat it straight away which rarely happens...lol)! A nice selection of choices on the menu with different daily specials, food was well presented, decent sized portions and tasted delicious!

Overall enjoyed our stay and will be returning very soon! Cant praise the staff enough for there professionalism, friendliness, approachability and overall helpfulness!!! A lovely traditional hotel with a modern twist!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mmilne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but we did have lunch. The food was really lovely and the service was great. Nice little bar at the side of hotel, a good place to stop off and eat or have a few drinks. If you have a dog they are happy for you to take your dog into the bar and eat there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Platty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Due to work I have been in the area a lot over the last couple of months and have stayed 3 times with friends, relatives and my partner on the last occasion. As well as being very lucky we have also had the most amazing stays at this lovely, friendly and comfortable hotel. I have stayed in both their superior suite and in their standard rooms and have been delighted with all accommodation. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is wonderful. The value for money and attention to detail is wonderful and We are planning another stay very soon and we cannot recommend this gorgeous place highly enough!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilasteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at The Taynuilt Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for your review

David

David Lapsley
General Manager and Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel and Restaurant
Best "Informal Dining" Argyll & Lomond 2016 (Scottish Hotel Awards)
2 AA Rosette Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews