We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant and the view amazing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hydrangea Cottage

Bonawe House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bonawe House
Hydrangea Cottage Hydrangea Living room and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Bonawe House
Hydrangea Cottage
Hydrangea Living room and kitchen
Hydrangea living room
hydrangea double bed room
Hydrangea bunk bedroom
Hydrangea single bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antonia D
1 review
“Brilliant and the view amazing”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I go every year and I love it so much. There so friendly and the cottage are beautiful. I love the View and I am so grateful that I come alot.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanne s
1 review
“Short break”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in the cottage over two nights all I can was it was outstanding both in location and the facilities it provided
So delightful was our stay we are planning a longer break
We totally recommend this property.
Fantastic hosts so friendly and helpful

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2018
Hi Susanne,
Thank you for your kind comments and apologies for being so slow replying we got swamped in winter projects.

Damon &Renate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karengorn...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family sized cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Location, scenery and views from the cottage are beautiful. Lovely walks around, very peaceful. Dog friendly. Owners are very helpful and we have been several times. Perfect family holiday location.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Hi Karen, Thank you for your kind review, hopefully we will see you up here again at some point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina M
Manchester
1 review
“Fantastic week as always!”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We absolutely loved staying at Bonawe and do so every year. Damon and Renate are always welcoming, warm and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. Hydrangea is a perfect cottage for a family of 5 and we were very comfortable. It's modern, clean and warm with everything we needed. We always enjoy the grounds too, with beautiful gardens for the kids to play in and plenty of little walks straight from the house, including the Inverawe smokehouse. Needless to say, holidays in Western Scotland are the highlight of the year and a week is never long enough; Mountains, rivers, beaches,cycling, hiking, churches, castles, small boat trips, big boat trips, island hopping, puffins, tea shops, museums, playgrounds, fishing...it is literally the place we all look forward to coming every year above all other places. I can't recommend highly enough Thank you to Damon, Renate and the girls and see you in May 2017!

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Hi Katrina

Thank you so much for your kind review. Look forward to seeing you later in the year.

Damon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter C
1 review
“A visit to adopted home.”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Each year for the last ten years we return to Bonawe Cottages Taynuilt our adopted home, which is totally opposite to our real abode. It's tranquil, scenic and resting for us city dwellers.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Hi Walter

Thanks for the kind review, will hopefully see you up here soon.

Damon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location and a wonderful place to be.”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed at Bonawe quiet a few times and it has always been a lovely clean establishment in a great location. I have stayed in a few of the cottages ansd they suit my requirements perfectly. The area is a great place to base yourself when visiting the argyll.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lell
uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for old and young”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed in the Hydrangea Cottage with my mum, my partner and our young 20 month old daughter.We had a brilliant time, the cottage was very spacious for us (we did move some furniutre round), well equipped and of a very high quality. The views from our kitchen window were great- red squirrels, deer, chickens, sheep and cows. Thre free range chickens on site proved great entertainment for the little one- and she loved eating their eggs on a morning.
There's loads to do in the areas, in easy reach of the cottage-we were reluctant to use the local grocers thinking it would be over priced but we were wrong- and he was a lovely chap like the Bon Awe House website suggests- so probably worth preordering some groceries in advance of your stay.

Lots to do on site too during wet days- plenty DVDs or music to listen too- we didn't even get as far as the games room.

Lovely place, definitely would recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: chickens kept our little girl entertained for hours
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Many thanks for the review, delighted you had a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing