We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Etive - CLOSED

Etive
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Taynuilt Hotel Lounge Bar offers gastro pub style food all prepared on the premises by our talented Chef Patron John McNulty who make everything onsite and only use the best Scottish produce, generous portions full of flavour washed down with a local hand pulled, cask ale. David Lapsley, General Manager and resident Sommelier has created a Scottish craft beer selection that has something for everyone and a wine list that challenges many a city restaurant, his knowledge on wine and spirits is extensive and will gladly pair drinks throughout your meal.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great Service and Fab Food well presented and cooked by owner chef. We were staying nearby on our way home from Morar and called in to book a table as it was our first wedding anniversary. The staff were really lovely with us and made our night special and had a complimentary bottle of cava chilling on the table. The food was really fresh and well cooked and presented better than many more expensive restaurants. Lovely choice of draught beers. Thank you for making our 1st Anniversary night so great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KayStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

I don't actually think I was working on the evening that you dined here with us but I am delighted to read your review as it affirms what I already know that we have great, friendly and thoughtful staff, I am so happy you had a great night,

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

David Lapsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 228 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stopped for a light lunch. It was wonderful, I had the seafood chowder, starter size. Chowder, bread and a cup of coffee was exactly right. Nice friendly people and enjoyable food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EclipseChaserWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us,

It is fair to say our Chowder is a very popular dish and always well received,

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

David Lapsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great location, very welcoming staff, good food, worthy of the recommendation we had. The restaurant was full when we arrived, but they soon found us somewhere to sit and the views from the restaurant windows are superb. They also have decking outside and, had the weather been better, we would have sat there.

Thank Della R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Hi there, you have reviewed the wrong place here I'm afraid

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Visited on Saturday evening for a birthday celebration. Could not fault the efficiency of the staff. All were polite, friendly and eager to make you welcome. The food was delicious. All courses were prepared to a high standard and presented well. Would recommend the rabbit, quail and venison starter with sourdough bread.
An excellent find.

Thank Rhona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are extremely pleased you had such a great night here with us,

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

David Lapsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This place is a must, so clean, friendly with fab, fab food.
The girl who served us with shortish dark hair was the most sweet, helpful and friendly person you could employ. Hats off to the owner chef for the absolutely fabulous food. We just stopped for lunch on the off chance but will now go out of our way to go there again.

Thank AllanA2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are delighted to have shown you our strengths in the food we produce here,

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

David Lapsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etive also viewed

Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Kilchrenan, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing