We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly service”
Review of Etive - CLOSED

Etive
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Taynuilt Hotel Lounge Bar offers gastro pub style food all prepared on the premises by our talented Chef Patron John McNulty who make everything onsite and only use the best Scottish produce, generous portions full of flavour washed down with a local hand pulled, cask ale. David Lapsley, General Manager and resident Sommelier has created a Scottish craft beer selection that has something for everyone and a wine list that challenges many a city restaurant, his knowledge on wine and spirits is extensive and will gladly pair drinks throughout your meal.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate here twice and both evenings had excellent meals. Good food, obviously made on the premises. The puddings were great - homemade ice cream was lovely. Nice selection of bottled beer from Scottish breweries. Best to book at peak times as it seems popular. Choice of eating in bar or restaurant. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fifewalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having read the reviews on here before my wife and I set off on our day trip we were confident that this was going to be a successful journey unfortunately our hopes were shattered! Arrived in the "public" bar to find an empty bar with no music,tv or any form of life to be honest! It was all rather awkward! The toilets were cold and unattended to! We went through to the restaurant to order so food from a menu which seemed to give a great mouthwatering experience but when the food arrived on cold plates and basically flung on the plate it had lost its appeal. We didn't hang around for deserts we headed out as quick as we could then we stopped at a place called the Brander Lodge for a cool drink which was a very comfortable and warm and inviting busy place which now looking back we feel this would have met our expectations....what a pitty tho!

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Jan50000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review,

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited this place last year and I would not have given it a second look, but as this was organised by someone else we visited it again and wow what a change, decent meal that tasted great, good size portion more than I could eat and great service, the decor had also changed.

What a change, well worth a visit if you are in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JY-and-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

As we were staying at Airdeny Chalets just up the Glen Lonan Road, it seemed appropriate to visit Taynuilt hotel for a meal - well, to tell the truth, quite some years ago we stayed there for a few nights so there wasn't going to be any surprises.

We actually called there for a drink and a meal - very enjoyable, very tasty and reasonably priced. What more could you want. Oh yes, and it was Quiz Night - I think we got a fair view answers right and didn't struggle to much with the fairly thick Argyll accent.

Thank Bob_Jennings1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We called in for dinner on a Saturday night without a reservation and were seated straight away.
We both ordered the ribeye steak, which took a while to arrive but were delicious.
However we were blown away by the home made ice cream made on site. Apple, lemon meringue, raspberry and blueberry flavours...all completely delicious. They should sell them by the tub to take away!
We had a drink in the bar after our meal which was very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etive also viewed

Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Kilchrenan, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing