We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick service and tasty food to boot”
Review of Etive - CLOSED

Etive
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Taynuilt Hotel Lounge Bar offers gastro pub style food all prepared on the premises by our talented Chef Patron John McNulty who make everything onsite and only use the best Scottish produce, generous portions full of flavour washed down with a local hand pulled, cask ale. David Lapsley, General Manager and resident Sommelier has created a Scottish craft beer selection that has something for everyone and a wine list that challenges many a city restaurant, his knowledge on wine and spirits is extensive and will gladly pair drinks throughout your meal.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

As we were staying at Airdeny Chalets just up the Glen Lonan Road, it seemed appropriate to visit Taynuilt hotel for a meal - well, to tell the truth, quite some years ago we stayed there for a few nights so there wasn't going to be any surprises.

We actually called there for a drink and a meal - very enjoyable, very tasty and reasonably priced. What more could you want. Oh yes, and it was Quiz Night - I think we got a fair view answers right and didn't struggle to much with the fairly thick Argyll accent.

Thank Bob_Jennings1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 228 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We called in for dinner on a Saturday night without a reservation and were seated straight away.
We both ordered the ribeye steak, which took a while to arrive but were delicious.
However we were blown away by the home made ice cream made on site. Apple, lemon meringue, raspberry and blueberry flavours...all completely delicious. They should sell them by the tub to take away!
We had a drink in the bar after our meal which was very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were staying nearby so thought we'd pop in for a meal and weren't disappointed. The staff were very pleasant and despite a mix up on our order the meal was very good, I only wanted a starter but they added a few chips to make it a mains at no extra cost. My husbands fish was massive and delicious. I believe the place is under new ownership so I wish them good luck in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A fantastic meal at very reasonable prices - the portion size was very generous and obviously all freshly prepared. The own-baked bread was superb. Service was prompt, cheerful and helpful. We will definately be back. Recommend highly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a meal with friends, having been advised the new owners had made a substantial improvement to the menu. The service was somewhat lacklustre and slow but the menu was unimaginative - especially for one of the party who is vegetarian. The bar area had been renovated but was cold in appearance and temperature - both of which could have been enhanced by the addition of a carpet to the bare floor. Sorry.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnyboy316, General Manager at Etive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

Thank you for your review

David Lapsley
General Manager & Sommelier
Taynuilt Hotel & Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etive also viewed

Strachur, Argyll and Bute
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
 
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing