We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fly fishing school”

Inverawe Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Taynuilt
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traditional Family run smokery specialising in salmon and trout. Visitor Centre includes walk through exhibition, four stocked fly fishing lochs, nature trails and country walks. Cafe and produce shop onsite for a relaxing light meal or snack.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fly fishing school”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Inverawe is primarily about the smoke house and products they sell, but they also have a small fly fishing pond and lessons for beginners. This was perfect for us as we'd never fished before and were looking for an introduction. The staff were extremely friendly, especially Phil our instructor who was patient, kind and very knowledgeable, putting up with my constant stream of questions. We caught a couple of Brown Trout which we took home for dinner - they were delicious. The location is about a twenty minute drive north of Oban and remote but easy to find. I'd definitely recommend this place if you're in the area and looking for beginners lessons on fly fishing. Ask for Phil, he's great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wheeltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    12
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but impressive”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unfortunately we visited at the weekend so the smokehouse was not 'up and running'. We enjoyed a snack at the small cafe - although our ordering and being served seemed to confuse the staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BLayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“See smoking in Action”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found this place by chance spotting a sign on the main road en route to Oban. We turned of the road and had a drive through winding narrow road in between mountains wondering if we were in right place. The good thing is every mile or so you see a sign pointing to Inverawe Smokery and Fishing Centre.

Onarrival you will find a car park and a small cafe and shop. It is here you can purchase your ticket to visit the smokery and although the smokery is not that large it is well set out with interesting models and things for both adults and children alike to see. Better still you can see the fish being dealt with.

It is better to arrive in the morning as later in the day the main work will have finished and then you will only see the tail end of staff cutting and packing the fish.

They have nice clean toilets and a good cafe. The shoip also sells many interwsting goodies apart from smoked fish.

They have an outside playground and some marked nature walks.

If fishing is your thing then you will find the fishing centre offers good angling opportunities.

Well worth a visit but allow say half an hour to get in and out on the windy road.

After leaving we continued on to Oban which takes another 20 minutes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The tour of the smokery and its facilities along with feeding the fish and also a bit of fishing was great fun and a refreshing coffee in the spotless cafe was superb. Well done to Rosie and Robert on a very well run and professional setup

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trezzo sull'Adda, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“From fishing to eating!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found Inverawe Smokehouse a couple of years ago, driving from Oban to Fort William; it was a beautiful surprise: after a visit to the exhibition ( it costs £ 1.50 ), where you can learn about salmon fishing and smoking ( and if you're there at the right time you can see the smoking process ), a visit to the cafe is a must: salmon sandwich and salmon salad are delicious!! In the little shop you can find everything you need if you want trying fishing and cooking at home your own fish.
Everyone is kind and we had a warm welcome.
Everytime we go to Scotland, we try to go there to have a break with their delicious salmon.
very recommended!!!

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inverawe Smokehouse also viewed

Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
 
Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute
Dalmally, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inverawe Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing