We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airdeny Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airdeny Chalets
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our sceond time staying here,& it was just as good as the first time.Very clean & quiet chalets,all you need for your hoilday proveided including a home made cake awaiting your arrival,(much appreiced).There is so much to see & do in the area that you have to keep coming back again & again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmit062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly owner and the lovely dog... Warm welcome .
Excellent surrounding... Very clean chalet ... Relaxing and calm place .... Happy to travel again and again.they had All the equipment we needed from having a shower to cook a proper meal . Excellent .....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kushi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our first holiday in Scotland and we couldn't have chosen a better place than Airdeny. The 3 bed chalet was extremely comfortable and well kept - good beds, comfy furniture, plenty of room for 5 of us and an amazing view. Agree with all previous reviewers comments - they are not exaggerating awarding 5 stars. A beautiful walk down to the village where you find very helpful and friendly people at the village shops, tearoom and hotel. The special climate here means the air is soft and warm and the light is breathtaking, Gardens were lush with rhododendrons and azaleas and everywhere masses of bluebells. Our outings included Oban, the Kerrera island walk, Avich falls walk, Glenfinnan viaduct near Fort William, Inverawe Smokery (lovely walk to Loch Etive) and the power station in Ben Cruachan.

Room Tip: Our chalet allowed pets but there was no sign or smell of them at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

we just can't get enough of this place! we have been coming to Airdeny for over 15 years first just the two of us to enjoy the walks, birds of prey, wild life and the beautiful surroundings of the glen, just perfect. when our daughter arrived what better place to bring her, and the grandparents to share this amazing place. Jen & Liath are the perfect hosts to our perfect part of Scotland, a very warm welcome is always guaranteed,love the homemade fruit loaf, the cabins have everything you need and provide a great base for exploring the west coast.

Room Tip: all cabins are great choose depending on your group size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crewthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
303 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Airdeny Chalets are on the Glen Lonan road about 8 tenths of a mile outside the village of Taynuilt, the walk into the village takes around 15 to 20 minutes and is very pleasant. Oban is 12 miles, where there are 3 major supermarkets, a host of other shops and places to eat. The ferry also leaves from here for trips to the Islands.
There are 7 chalets in all, some are dog friendly, others are dog free. The views from the site are spectacular and ever changing. The site itself is maintained to a very high standard, with grassed areas, trees and shrubs. There is plenty of wildlife in the area, rabbits, bats and we had a red deer outside the kitchen window one early evening. The chalets are spaced far enough apart to offer a good degree of privacy. Our chalet was very well equipped and spotlessly clean in all areas. Each chalet has either Sky TV or Free Sat, with a DVD player, DVD's and books are available to borrow free from reception. There is a washing machine and tumble drier on site at a cost of £1 per use.
On arrival we received a very friendly welcome from Jennifer and her very playful dog, and as other reviewers have mentioned there was a fruit cake waiting for us in our chalet.
On the whole an excellent place to stay, in a good location to explore the area either on foot or by car. Taynuilt village has a very good butcher, a well stocked general store, cafe, hairdresser, baker and Post Office. The nearest garage is about 2.5 miles out of the village.
Would highly recommend and would visit again.
As an alternative drive to Oban instead of the main road, try taking the Glen Lonan road, turn right out of the site instead of left, spectacular views and the highland cattle are very willing to pose for photographs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milligan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a fantastic two week stay at Airdeny Chalets. Two adults and three children, loads of things to do. We drove a total of 800 miles during our stay. Breath taking views. Beautiful home made fruit cake on arrival, just what was needed.
Very nice welcome from Jennifer and Liath (Jen's dog) the children loved playing with her in the evenings when we got home. The accommodation was brilliant, clean and warm. Home from home.

Thanks for a great time. Hope to be back some time.

Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janesmiff62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Airdeny is quite simply the best. My family visited for a week (5 adults & 4 dogs) and we really enjoyed ourselves. The location is perfect and thanks to some very clever gadgets there are practically no midgies (almost unheard of on the west coast of Scotland). When we arrived there was a lovely fruit loaf (homemade) waiting for us - be warned it was very scrummy and gone by the end of the day with us. There is information on activities and local walks as well as a folder of information on the chalet and how it works.

The reception area has even more info and also books and DVD's you can borrow - really you will want for nothing.

Can't wait to get more holiday time so I can go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabbythistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taynuilt
0.8 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
15.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tanglewood Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airdeny Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airdeny Chalets

Property: Airdeny Chalets
Address: Airdeny Chalets Glen Lonan, Taynuilt PA35 1HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Taynuilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airdeny Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 two and three bedroom chalets, set in 3.5 acres of peaceful natural habitat, 1 mile from Taynuilt, with spectacular views of Ben Cruachan and Glen Etive. It is an ideal base for walking, cycling, fishing, bird watching, touring the Western Highlands & Islands or just relaxing. Oban, gateway to the Isles, is just 12 miles away. Graded three and four star by Visit Scotland. Prices range from £275 to £705 per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Airdeny Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airdeny Chalets Taynuilt, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing