We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and great food too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A really great stay at a very reasonably priced hotel in a fantastic location by Loch Awe. Whilst the rooms and decor reflect the low price, all is clean and works well. However, the really friendly and wonderfully helpful service from all the staff (without exception) makes this place so exceptional. The food is locally sourced and delicious - remarkably reasonable prices too. I would stay again without hesitation and heartily recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be friendly and welcoming.
Winter will enable more time to continue refurbishments so our ongoing program of renovation and repair shall continue and we hope you will be able to return again at sometime and enjoy our company again and the improvements.

Kind regards

David Keat
Owner/manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 374 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on the way back from Coll. Had a bad feeling about the place as soon as we walked in and would have about turned had we not been so tured. The guy at reception ( possibly the owner) pointed out that the place was dead. A bit strange as it was Sept weekend. We were shown to our room which was ok. Not the nicest. We unpacked then went to the bar for a drink...the place was deserted. We decided to go back to the room. I realised later that there were no tea bags so called reception (no answer) so went off looking for a staff member. I got as far as the 'lounge' doors and realised the complete place was in darkness. It appeared everyone had gone home! This hotel needs sold and completely overhauled...starting with the bar and its cheap vibe. The lounge needs to decide if it's a lounge or a throughfare...the fire needs lit for guests and the lamps should at least work. A commited team of staff should be employed to look after any guests! A bit of a shame for this place as its in a good location with nice grounds. We wont be returning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Daz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Not a labour of Love!!!! Tut tut how wrong can one be. Sadly we cannot please everyone all of the time as we are all only human. Having bought a sows ear three years ago and laboured hard and long in those three years (No Holidays) to convert the premises into at present a suede bag but working on the silk purse, we have gone from no rating to 2 star.
Situated in the middle of the country side, nearest small town two miles nearest large town (Oban 15 miles) we do have some quiet nights, Sunday of Bank Holiday being one unfortunately, however having been fully booked the two previous nights and fed 60 contentedly for dinner the previous evening I guess we are not doing badly. Sadly you happened upon one of the few nights of the year when the Brander lodge is nigh on empty, where careful management, common sense and financial controls call for minimal staffing levels (2 guests) sad but true.
As for your careful observation of an overhaul required, Lounge/Throughfare, Fire unlit (It's lit in Winter) bar and its cheap vibe etc etc, all the plans are done, it's a mere small matter of raising £300,000.00 in the tale end of a recession.
Maybe you are in a position to front the cash and we could full fill my plans and your desires in one, worth a thought!!!!!
I am sad to hear you won't be returning but that is the beauty of life and a free world, we have choices. In the meantime I shall continue to re-develop at an affordable pace and continue to keep the large percentage of our returning guests as happy as their reviews indicate.

I thank you for your constructive input and wish you well in your future travels.

Kind regards

David Keat
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Brander Lodge a few times now and it just gets better every time. The food is fantastic with a menu that kept me spoilt for choice considering i was there for over a month. But it is the service and warm welcome of the staff and owners that will see me return again and again. Thanks Dave and everyone at the Brander Lodge for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnySkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you JonnySkye your positive review is much appreciated and the staff and myself are delighted our slow but continuing improvements and efforts are paying dividends. I have passed your comments onto the team who are delighted about the recognition.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards

David Keat
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

They were understaffed but really friendly and helpful. We had a comfortable room with lots of desk space and a good shower. The place feels as if its gradually being improved and the food was good without being brilliant. Lovely eggs and smoked salmon for breakfast but overall a little old fashioned. I guess some people still like tinned grapefruit and prunes for breakfast so it must be worth providing them! The wine was good though and the whole place well priced. I like the friendliness best...and the lovely dog!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Rose & Co than you for your constructive and encouraging review it is nice to know that guests can see a work in progress and enjoy the dated but friendly surroundings. One day we hope you will be surprised beyond belief upon a return visit when we have managed to secure funding and do complete the planned transformation.

We all wish you well.

kind regards

David Keat
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great wee hotel in beautiful surroundings Dave is a brilliant host and could not do enough for you food is excellent and all the staff are always cheery and helpful I would have to say Dave goes above and beyond to ensure you have a great time some rooms are in the process ofbeing upgraded but ours was completed with comfortable furnishings and a very comfortable bed which was very much appreciated after some long walks over 50 malts to choose from if that is your thing a very well stocked bar. No entertainment when we we're there but good company vintage tv and cards is enough for us. Well worth a visit. Well done everyone Teresa Harry Anne & John room 6 & 3

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Teresa, Harry, Anne & John thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us here at the Brander lodge and the general feel of the premises. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return at some other date and experience the changes we have planned for the future. There is also a great deal to see in the Argyll area and situated where we are it a very good vantage point for branching out on various day trips.

We wish you all well.

kind regards

David Keat
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A great location to be able to visit all the west of Scotland. Just 20 mins from Oban but out in an accessible rural location making it quiet and serene.
The staff are great and catered for our young family. And the food was excellent.
A real home from home experience with friendly atmosphere and great food. Can't recommend it enough for anyone wanting to visit this area of stunning Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GasMans_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for you review it is much appreciated and reviews of this nature go a long way to encouraging staff and management alike to soldier on.

We are delighted that as a family you found the Hotel comfortable and the setting a good central point for exploring the area.

Here's hoping you can manage the time to visit again in the future.

Kind regards

David Keat
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a great place to have a break. Location is fantastic and very relaxing but the family owned hotel is filled with such a great atmosphere - that's what makes it a great place. They are fun and very hospitable. Hotel is clean and comfortable, food and service was fantastic and the welcome and service we received was brilliant. It made our trip away with friends a great stay and we are already planning coming back next year, and they are dog friendly so added bonus. Well worth a visit. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYOMI1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Owner at The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you very much for such an encouraging and positive review. The staff and I are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and that you are planning to return to our humble abode next year.

It will be lovely to welcome you again and hopefully we will have managed to make further improvements to the fabric of the building by then.

Wishing you a speedy return

Kind regards

David Keat
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taynuilt
2.3 mi away
The Taynuilt Etive
The Taynuilt Etive
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
316 reviews
5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
397 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
13.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,543 reviews
11.9 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro

Address: Bridge of Awe A85 | Near Taynuilt, Oban, Taynuilt PA35 1HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Taynuilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taynuilt
Price Range: $131 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now reached 3 star rating with the completion of the new ensuites. Warm, welcome, friendly hospitality is offered in this family owned and operated country Hotel & Bistro quietly set in three and a half acres of landscaped gardens in the shadows of Ben Cruachan at the mouth of the historic Brander Pass. We have 21 rooms all en-suite compiling a combination of singles, twins, doubles and two, two roomed family rooms. The Hotel has an ongoing refurbishment program and will be carrying out further upgrading of facilities late Winter early Spring 2015/16 as business permits, with minimal disruption to guests as it shall be completed in closed off stages. Our Menu offers freshly prepared and locally sourced food where possible and portions are generous with a more homely nature, wholesome and hearty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brander Lodge Hotel And Bistro
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro Taynuilt, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing