We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we wanted or needed, with more...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glenhurich Lodge

Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
The garden at Glenhurich Lodge Glenhurich Lodge towards Loch Sheil
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
The garden at Glenhurich Lodge
Glenhurich Lodge towards Loch Sheil
Glenhurich Lodge sitting room fire
Glenhurich Lodge sitting room
Glenhurich Lodge dining
Glenhurich Lodge kitchen
Landing
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Road into Glenhurich
Glenhurich Lodge and Loch Sheil from Resipole summit
Viewpoint over Loch Shiel
Loch Sheil
Paddle boarding on Loch Doilet
Forestry Road from Lodge to Glenfinnin
Lochan Dhu - The Black Lochan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona M
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted or needed, with more besides...”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Ours was a large, disparate group from as far afield as the Highlands and Brighton. The house was perfect; decorated tastefully with subtle attention to detail. Very good mattresses and bedding on all the beds plus a big kitchen with everything we needed to hand, including a range cooker, massive fridge/freezer, mixers and the list goes on. The barn has a table tennis table and there was a even a flat area beside that for football, cricket, whatever. In other words, everyone was very happy...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Just being there in a lovely house and gardens with great people.
Liked least: The midgies on still, damp evenings.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURNETIA
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent property in spectacular location”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The lodge was very spacious and well equipped. Felt more like a home than a holiday rental. The location was quite remote which meant it took some time to get there. However, it was more than worth it once we had arrived as there were great walks and cycle rides from the door. The variety of books, board games and DVDs meant that curling up in front of the open fire was a good option when the weather turned bad.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We drove from Glasgow and stopped via Loch Fyne on the way for lunch, which I recommend doing.

The drive up to the house is spectacular, the house itself is very well equipped with good quality kitchen itinerary, amazing fire place in the lounge rooms are all a great size and the bathrooms are brill.

There's a nice table in the garden area with a mountain in the backdrop where we had breakfast one morning in the sunshine.

There were 6 of us so had a room each which was perfect.

If your up for a house in the sticks and somewhere cosy to relax then this is definitely the place.
Hoping to return again soon.

Thanks to Gordan for all his help before the trip i.e. nearest supermarket is Morrison in Fort William around 45 mins away, but we did our food shopping at Aldi when we got of the flight in Glasgow.

It was our first time in Scotland and fell in love with the place.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K
1 review
“Beautiful Lodge!”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had an amazing long weekend at Glenhurich Lodge. We were 10 people total (5 couples), and there was plenty of room for everyone to sleep, eat and relax. The furnishings were very modern -- we especially loved the beautiful, fully outfitted kitchen and the large living room with open fireplace. We used the lodge as a launchpad for the weekend to lots of beautiful hikes and sights in the surrounding area. :)

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Although it took us 2 days to reach Glenhurich due to the snow, it was definitely worth the effort. Gordon, the owner and Cliff, who looks after the house, were very helpful and kept us informed about the roads and the weather. The house has everything you need for a great holiday with friends - large kitchen and lounge for getting together, log fires, lovely bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Hamish the springer spaniel enjoyed the garden and great walks. We had some good walks up the hills and the 'Coffin Road' to Strontian. We had days out in the car to Castle Tioram, Ardnamurchan Point, Sanna Bay, Roshven and Rhu. Stunning scenery. Some of the party saw an otter and Golden eagles on a walk near Castle Tioram. We would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthMorl
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent Christmas at Glenhurich Lodge and it was the perfect hideaway for long walks and relaxing by the log fire after a busy December in the city. The journey to get there is through stunning Scottish scenery and the location is idyllic with snow capped hills, lochs and plenty wildlife to see. (golden eagles, pine marten, kestrels, red deer, buzzards etc) The house has everything you could need in the kitchen, modern bathrooms and really comfortable beds. Didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jar186338
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best New Year so far....”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spend the week after Christmas at the Glenhurich Lodge - including New Year's Eve. The lodge was perfect - large, clean and comfortable. We were mostly couples - the rooms were large and comfy and the beds were amazingly comfortable. There was a big kitchen, well equipped to deal with our large group and wonderful showers! The log fire was perfect for coming in after a freezing cold walk!
The really beauty is in the location - situated at the bottom of a long sweeping valley, at the foot of Loch Shiel, there are multiple walks with great opportunities to spot golden eagles and plenty of deer. The wider area is stunning too, so well worth exploring the whole peninsular. If only we had more time!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing