We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Location Beside Sea Loch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strontian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Probably not the first location you would look at for staying in Scotland but we wanted a quiet location out of the way and slightly off the tourist trail and that's exactly what we got. Basically Strontian is on the road to nowhere, well not quite true as you can get to Ft William by a round about route and the western peninsula and the ferry to Mull from Lochaline is only half hour or so away done some wonderful single track roads. Anyway we arrived at the hotel and were allocated room 7 upstairs to the left, there are only two rooms here 6 & 7. Room seven is on the side and if you peer out to the left down the side of the loch and through a very big tree you can see the loch. Well it was advertised as a partial loch view to be fair. We were here for three nights and there was virtually no noise at all in our room just the door from room six occasionally but not a problem. Room was of a good size with two single beds, one bedside cabinet, wardrobe, table and a chair. It also had a small TV and tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits which were replenished every day. Bathroom was of a good size too with some storage available and toiletries supplied. Downstairs was a nice residents lounge with a rich aroma from the fresh Lillie's and on coming back every evening lots of candles, very cosy. Just off the lounge was the breakfast room, breakfast was really good and tasty you get a choice of cooked items from the menu or help yourself to toast and cereals. The only thing you won't find are any pastries but that didn't bother us. We used the hotel restaurant on two evenings and it was OK, ate out on one night in Mull. One point though, on arriving back after 7pm it was difficult to find a decent parking space and I'm surprised there are no residents only parking spaces. Found one in the end but it could be troublesome. We had a very good time here and would definitely consider using again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for The Strontian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

Dined at the restaurant at this hotel. The food was very average! Not Gastro-pub standard and not restaurant standard.
However the location is beautiful, the views stunning, and the staff very friendly... this makes up for the food makes me wonder what this place could achieve if the kitchen delivered too! Worth a visit for the location alone!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank ScotinLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We went to Strontian specifically for a concert and selected this hotel,and decided to book the suite (room 3) and well worth it too. We arrived at 3pm to find the hotel closed but should have looked at the smallprint which says 4pm onwards check in. No complaints about the room at all and enjoyed the lovely outlook to Loch Sunart. We had dinner in the pleasant restaurant and it was very good, although restaurant and bar were getting very busy because of the influx of people for the concert. The residents lounge is very comfortable and the breakfast room bright,although we were slightly dissapointed with the bacon as some of it was hard,like it had been left out too long, but the Stornoway black budding made up for it . The couple who own and run the hotel are very pleasant and helpful as were the other staff. It was so peaceful in the morning that we wished we had booked two nights. Would certainly go back. Bonus for us was the guys headlining the concert were also staying there and we were able to have a chat with them.

Room Tip: The suite is great but any loch facing room should be good.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barnego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

quite simply a lovely hotel,friendly and helpful staff ,good food, great views and area,nice walks,i cant get to 200 letters easily for a review because the strontian hotel is such a lovely place,and reflecting on every aspect of our stay still brings a pleasant glow .thankyou .................................mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank charloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Loved our one night here and wish we could have stayed longer. A very nice dinner, an excellent breakfast, very comfortable room and, most of all, extremely friendly and helpful service. James took lots of time to advise us on walks and tourist attractions nearby, and both he and his wife made time to chat to all their guests which gave the whole stay a very friendly and comfortable feel. Great customer service, bravo!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

After living in Strontian for just over a year, it is always great to be back in such an amazing place with some amazing people. The purpose of this visit was to climb Ben Nevis for charity and to go to the annual Strontian Show Dance. From arriving, we were made very welcome. The rooms we stayed in were excellent and the attention to detail and hosting skills of James and Michelle were great. Dinner on the Friday evening was very busy as it was the show weekend, but Michelle was very accommodating and managed to squeeze us in, which when combined with the great food and brilliant atmosphere from the locals, was excellent as always. As we had an extremely early start on the day of our climb, we didn't have time for breakfast, however James prepared us a bacon sandwich and wrapped it up for us so that we were ready and raring to go. Every aspect of our stay was great and I cannot thank Michelle and James enough for making it a pleasure, as always, to be back in such a special place.

Room Tip: Room 5 (Double Room) has an amazing view of Loch Sunart. Also, if ordering breakfast, the Stornoway...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank nona8390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Friendliness in this hotel was first class. The view from room 6 was breathtaking looking out to Loch Sunart. Room decor was lovely and very comfy bed. Breakfast and dinner was very tasty and plenty of choices and good sized helpings. Residents lounge was very comfortable with lovely couches and plenty of books and music to listen too. Will certainly return if in this area.

Room Tip: Room 6 had lovely view of loch
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
0.3 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
84 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
130 reviews
13.4 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
657 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strontian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strontian Hotel

Address: Acharacle, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range: $103 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a small highland Hotel at the start of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula. It is a beautiful spot in which to explore the wonderful peninsula and its amazing wildlife e.G otters, seals, pine martins, eagles and of course ideal for bird watchers. We have secluded white sandy beaches and beautiful hills to climb, amazing boat trips and fishing opportunities too !We have just six bedrooms with private residents lounge and dining room as well as a small highland bar serving great pub food. The Hotel is open all year except January and we really welcome cyclists, walkers and birdwatchers. We have drying facilities and storage for cycles. We can arm you with maps and suggest beautiful walks and excursions, provide you with packed lunches and cycle hire too. PS Pets are welcome also. Free Wifi in each bedroom and public areas. We are a great place to stop also on your way to the Isle of Mull - the ferry is just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Strontian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Strontian
The Strontian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing