We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel, friendly and helpful owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strontian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strontian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, friendly and helpful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights here and can't fault anything from arrival to departure. Lovely owners who offered much advise on trips out. We stayed in room 3 which has lounge area and gorgeous views. Very tasty meals and good choices with some meal changes both nights. Hope to make another longer trip to this hotel sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandChris86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    57
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
102
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A real home-from home of a hotel, in a beautiful, tranquil setting. After carefully researching other accommodation in the area, I chose The Strontian Hotel for our short break away in March 2013. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by cheery, friendly staff. The manageress, Michelle, couldn't have been more helpful or considerate. She explained she had been redecorating one of the rooms in our corridor and offered us a free upgrade to the Master Suite room in case we noticed the paint smell. We viewed both rooms and decided to stay put in the room we'd booked, as the paint wasn't noticeable - and our room had a better loch-view from the bed! Over our four-night stay, we ate in every evening - eating in the less formal Bothy bar until the last night when we were served in the Dining Room. This, in itself, was a departure from the norm, but was at the suggestion of Michelle and her parner, James, out of concern we might otherwise be disturbed in the Bothy Bar... as it was due to be used by the firefighters who'd been on the surrounding hills all day tackling heathland blazes. Every evening we enjoyed coffee by the roaring fire in the residents' lounge. The meals we ate were excellent, as well as filling. The same was true of breakfast. The hotel provided a perfect base for exploring the Ardnamurchan peninsula, as well as the Morvern and other surrounding areas. The accommodation was very comfortable, with a clean, tidy and spacious bedroom. Extra toiletries were readily provided on request, as we'd forgotten to bring some of our own. All in all, we'd highly recommend staying at The Strontian Hotel. Comfortable accommodation; great food; excellent service; stunning local scenery - we even saw a family of otters outside when eating dinner one evening. Michelle and James were great hosts, with nothing too much trouble. The offer of the free room upgrade, and the concern for us the night the fire crew were in, shows how seriously they take guests' comfort. Anyone booking a stay at The Strontian Hotel won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 6 - great view of the loch; and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolag536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Strontian Hotel is in an enviable position overlooking Loch Sunart; a view that can't fail to melt away the stresses of urban dwellers like us. I can't think of many better locations from which to explore the exceptional scenery of this part of Scotland.

We ate here twice (in their 'Bothy Bar') during a recent stay in Strontian. Both times the food was very good - hearty fayre; just what's needed after a day's walking! They were able to accommodate us at short notice despite there being 8 of us on our second visit. The surroundings are homely and welcoming and the hosts are very attentive and clearly care about running the place well. They have some decent real ales which again went down well after a long hike.

We will definitely be back in the future to recharge our batteries!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a wonderful place, my mum and I stayed here for her birthday and the lovely owners couldn't have done more or be more helpful, we had room 5 and the view was beautiful, the food was equally lovely...we really couldn't have asked for more! They were so helpful with places to go and even printed off information and drew maps for us, it was the perfect way to spend mums birthday and we really hope we can come back soon with more people!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roslin1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a wee trip for my birthday with my daughter and what a perfect location with fab food, excellent service and owners that could not do enough for you. I highly recommend this hotel for so many reasons. Perfectly situated with incredable views and situated in a truly outstanding part of Scotland. The owners were really helpful with places to visit and maps to do so. Would love to go back again in another season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycee176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

From booking over the phone till the day we left the owner Michelle could not do enough to make our stay the best we have ever had in Scotland . The room we had number 3 great view over the lock, comfortable bed, large shower.The food was lovely ,breakfast was great,good selection of cereal's cooked breakfast was excellent and the black pudding is the best I have had.evening meal great choice, would highly recommend the home made salmon quiche, We will being coming back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked The Strontian over the phone with Michelle the owner she was very helpful and flexible on when we could check in ......Our stay there was amazing a beautiful setting with great views of the Loch from our room ...the food was superb from the full english breakfast in the morning ( amazing black pudding) to the generous sized home cookd meals in the evening ...I strongly recommend that you pay Michele and James a visit and enjoy the wonderful hospitaility The Strontian has to offer !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
0.3 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
9.5 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
19.6 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strontian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strontian Hotel

Property: The Strontian Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a small highland Hotel at the start of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula. It is a beautiful spot in which to explore the wonderful peninsula and its amazing wildlife e.G otters, seals, pine martins, eagles and of course ideal for bird watchers. We have secluded white sandy beaches and beautiful hills to climb, amazing boat trips and fishing opportunities too !We have just six bedrooms with private residents lounge and dining room as well as a small highland bar serving great pub food. The Hotel is open all year except January and we really welcome cyclists, walkers and birdwatchers. We have drying facilities and storage for cycles. We can arm you with maps and suggest beautiful walks and excursions, provide you with packed lunches and cycle hire too. PS Pets are welcome also. Free Wifi in each bedroom and public areas. We are a great place to stop also on your way to the Isle of Mull - the ferry is just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Strontian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Strontian
The Strontian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing