We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RustyScot...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We've been renting houses in various parts of Scotland for 20+ years and this has to be one of the best. The location, layout of the accommodation, quality of the facilities etc. were fantastic. Our hosts were friendly, welcoming, easy going.. what more could you want??.The fact they were also able to supply eggs, steaks, pork (all produced on their farm) was just the icing on the cake. If you're into the outdoors the diversity of mountain walks, cycling, etc. available close by or directly accessible from the house is easily sufficient to keep you entertained for a good few weeks. Wall-to-wall sunshine for the entire week of our stay made for a memorable holiday. We were sorry to leave and plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything
Liked least: The house was a bit on the warm side (hardly an issue and can't believe this is a usual problem in Scotland!!!!!)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You were perhaps the most energetic family for a long time! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated the surroundings and the free-ranging animals/birds that we share the farm with. The fantastic weather must have been brought by yourselves, thank you.
We look forward to seeing you all again, kind regards Sally & Melvyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class accommodation in a stunning area”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had an excellent few days at Drimnatorran Lodge, which is one of the best self catering experiences we have had. A cosy and beautifully finished lodge - the four poster bed and roll top bath along with the wood burner being the highpoints - with a kitchen which lacks for nothing (save a washing machine). The owners have done a fantastic job of creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. We were all made very welcome, including the dog and though there are lots of free range animals on the farm there are plenty of long walks off the lead within - well, walking distance! Thanks again, the best review we can leave is that we will be back soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The four poster, roll top bath and woodburning stove
Liked least: Wi-fi was a bit come and go, but considering the location more than good enough!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post comments.
It was wonderful to meet you all, hope you enjoyed the snow but it was good conditions for walking the area.Thanks also for the efficient cleaning and tidying before leaving. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Kind regards Sally & Melvyn
(The washing machine is now located in the new Storehouse building, along with our farm produced free-range organic beef and pork that is on sale.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWebson...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drimnotorran Dream....Drimnotorran Dream......”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Melvin and Sally for the wonderful accommodation at the lodge and for preparing it so thoughtfully for our stay.The lodge is so well laid out ,bed linen like a hotel , towels so soft, everything you need in supplies in the kitchen and logs for the fire .Very welcoming and friendly hosts ,stunning location ,character farm animals and very tasty produce ! We have fallen in love with the western highlands and islands so we will be back to explore more of the dream ! All bathed in balmy September sunshine again please !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post positive comments about your stay at the Farm Lodge. It was lovely to meet you all and we're pleased that you enjoyed all the farm produced eggs and meat. Glad to know you are considering a return visit and please bring the fabulous weather we enjoyed during your stay.
Kind regards, Sally & Melvyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jduffy62
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This break was quiet and peaceful but more to do in the area if you choose, kids loved the animals and the hosts had alot of patience, accomodation was perfect, no idea why this is only 3 stars, beds were extremely comfortable, kitchen was fab all rooms are generous and comfortable, would highly recommend and will hopefully be back soon. Fresh eggs are a must to try.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the positive comments.
We are very pleased you all enjoyed your week break, the children seemed to enjoy interacting with all the animals we have. Congratulations again on the fundraising you achieved during your stay. Best wishes, Sally & Melvyn and all the animals at the farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The price of the ferry
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Drimnatorran.It is a great area for outdoor activities, particularly cycling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. Although the ferry cost can be quite expensive,there is a road route which takes about 40 minutes to Fort William. The scenery along the route is quite breathtaking and is a great alternative.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CarlaHead...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, fabulous views and 5 star accommodation”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have decided to return to Drimnatorran Lodge this June after the wonderful week we had last time. We stayed for a week at the beginning of June and was mesmerised by the beautiful area, the drive up to Strontian from England is breathtaking, Loch Lomond and Rannoch Moor being the highlights, and the lodge itself is located in a lovely area. The owners, Sally and Mel, couldn't have been more helpful, and even though they were only next door and always on hand to offer help and advice, we still felt like we were in our own little private Scottish bubble. The lodge itself is beautiful and decorated to a really high standard, we felt really at home there and always looked forward to coming back to the comfy beds and rearing wood fire. We travelled to Fort William and rented mountain bikes at the famous bike park, which was great, and also travelled to a beautiful deserted castle about an hour away on the edge of a Loch (can't remember the name but details are in the info park in the lodge). It really helped that we had a week of warm weather and brilliant sunshine, fingers crossed for the same again this June! Overall we had a really fantastic week and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and high standard of the lodge
Liked least: Pub a bit far away
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thanks for your positive feedback, it is very helpful.
We are glad you really enjoyed your stay here, the farm animals have missed you feeding them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing