We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dean m
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed there at the beginning of November for a week and it was just perfect as a place to stay for a week for 2..!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP-HEXH
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing, Rural Location”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough.

The lounge/dinning area is expansive and leaves plenty of room for lounging on the two leather couches or sitting at the 8 place round dinning table. One bedroom was downstairs (great for Grandad) and the other upstairs (great for us and the kids). Three shower rooms (one with a bath) are more than sufficient. Lovely wooden floors throughout which meant the kids could make a mess and we could tidy it up with little fuss!

The Cottage has basic Sky channels, a DVD player, HIFI and WIFI. The WIFI was of a good standard with only a few dropped connections and could usually sustain a 1mg+ connection throughout the house. Signal was better in the lounge of course.

The Cottage itself enjoys great views up the Loch and is only a short walk from the path to the beachside. The path to the beach was quite soggy when we visited to wear appropriate footwear.

From the Cottage you have 3 or 4 local choices for food without driving more than 10 minutes. Anything else is quite a drive though and requires careful planning on your return from trips out or cooking at home - which we did alot of the time on the large double sized electric hob and oven.

If you plan to be in Fort William or on the "real" mainland for much of your trips I would make sure you factor in Ferry times and costs, but I imagine if you're looking this location that isn't your real concern. Be prepared though, the location is on the Ardnamurchan Peninsula (effectively) which is accesible by Ferry for £9 or so a trip (which leaves every 30 minutes and takes only 5 to cross) or by longer single track road to Fort William which takes around an hour or so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and facilities
Liked least: More rural than we expected
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimoses
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We'd love to return.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had a lovely stay in this fantastic cottage on the outskirts of Strontian overlooking Loch Sunart, beautiful views from all the windows. The house was beautifully clean tidy and warm with plenty of coal/logs for the stove. The owner had even lit the stove for our arrival.....a lovely welcome.
The highlight of the cottage was the pinemartin who visited almost every night to eat the peanut butter we had put on the log store right outside the back door to entice him. The kitchen light and us with our noses pressed to the door didn't deter him.
There are a couple of shops and cafes in the village for necessities. There's also a hotel/pub overlooking the bay.
Fantastically positioned for touring the area, although be prepared for the very narrow roads!! Not much traffic though and plenty of passing places.
We had a fantastic relaxing time and would love to return someday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chadwickt...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a warm cottage with every thing you need”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

we stayed for two weeks at the end of June and first week in July.a good time was had by all.the cottage was very clean and spotless. they had every thing you needed in the kitchen.
bedrooms was a good size (master bedroom on 1st floor had an en-suit) .there was an bedroom on the ground floor for disabled couple with an shower room and toilet.there was 4 adults two needed the ground floor bedroom and they said it was very nice. would go again.so if you like a rest I would highly recommend this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: every thing
Liked least: could not find a thing wrong with it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majid C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage and location to die for. Value for money”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Myself and three friends rented this property. It has been one of the best holidays we have ever had.The views are absolutely mind blowing. The property itself has been done up to a very high standard. It has luxurious furniture, amazing kitchen and appliances including cutlery, pots and pans, plasma tv, sky, dvd player, book, games and wi-fi. It is very easy to get to and has good privacy. The landlords are very very nice people and the local people are very welcoming. There is a pub, hotel, petrol pump, two local shops and a cafe. The property is not that far from Fort William and other tourist attractions. The beach is a five minute walk and is good for fishing. There are many, really nice, footpath walks within the immediate area. We will definitely be back again in the near future and would recommed to all. To summarise, great location and views, value for money, amazing facilities and really welcoming locals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself with it's amenities, location, privacy and views.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing