We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Brasserie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Brasserie”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently stayed ay Kingairloch Highland Estate and traveled to Kilcamb Lodge for lunch in the new brasserie. Food was exceptional! Best fish and chips I have ever had. We loved it so much that we visited twice for lunch in the same week.

Highly recommend this hotel for lunch or dinner. Also Strontian for the lovely woodland walks and views!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Guest Relations at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your lunch, and are always happy to welcome returning guests! We hope that if you come to stay in Strontian again, you come in and say hi :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    54
    21
    11
    0
See reviews for
57
377
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Tucked away with an extensive frontage on Loch Sunart, this is a very special country house hotel. Service was "just right" from arrival to departure - friendly, helpful but not at all overbearing. The half board arrangement works really well, from pre-dinner nibbles in the lounge to coffee in the elegant drawing room. The food itself is beautifully prepared and presented - the main challenge is to select from a most attractive menu. We stayed two nights and the menu was the same, so perhaps over a longer stay it wouldn't have felt so innovative?

Our room was stylish and comfortable, well equipped and the bright bathroom lighting was most welcome - so often it's too dim to see things properly. The only snag was our room (No 3) was adjacent to the kitchen extraction system, so there was a constant hum. We asked to change rooms but only a premium cost suite was available the first night. The hotel were prepared to change us for the second night, but with the system turned off overnight, we decided to stay in Room 3. WiFi in the room was a bit hit and miss.

Ardnamurchan is a remote, interesting area in a bit of a "get away from it all" style. Kilcamb Lodge is an excellent base, offering fine rooms and fine dining (and wining!) in a caring, yet relaxing style.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Guest Relations at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are extremely proud of our menu and always love to hear that guests appreciate our food.
I am sorry to hear that you were initially unhappy with your room, however, where possible, we are always happy to change your rooms, although we are glad you were enjoyed the second night.

We are very grateful for your comments and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night but would love to have stayed longer.

We were with friends and family and received excellent service in a beautiful hotel in a lovely location.

We will certainly visit again and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in room 7 for one night (double room overlooking the loch) and we had a very comfortable stay.


Beautiful setting, peaceful and warm staff. We also took a full board including three course dinner and breakfast.

The dinner was very good, as well as the service in the intimate dining room.


Thoroughly recommended for a cosy, romantic getaway in the Scottish countryside.


I would imagine it being equally cosy on a cold winters day with a log fire burning in the drawing room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JRM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Fabulous loch side location. Great service, really attentive and friendly without being creepy. Comfortable room. Lovely food and delicious wine (Rodney Strong cabernet sauvignon). Smart decor. Country house hotel feel without being frumpy.

Room Tip: We had a garden room. It felt slightly on the small side, although the bed was big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in room 6 with its beautiful loch view. The staff were ever so nice, you would never vote UKIP if you had met them! The food is excellent, the hotel idyllic and the local walks are lovely. Ardnamurchan is unspoilt and peaceful. We saw seals playing in the loch and walked on the singing sands with views of skye. Two tips, the Bothy Bar in the village is great and take Avon skin so soft to deter the midges.

The only thing I can say that was not 100% perfect was that there could have been more variety in the desserts. By the third night we were ordering the same dessert again.

Room Tip: The loch views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtdestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, half board and would recommend it to anyone who loves good food, unobtrusive but friendly service and comfortable rooms, combined with lovely views, walks in nearby ancient forests and beautiful lochs in countryside that is teeming with wildlife.
The hotel is decorated in a mix of traditional and subtle modern tones and furnishings, which fits well with the style and scale of the hotel. The food is excellent and the wine list has some real gems on it. We selected the chef's tasting menu the first evening and each course was complex, beautiful and delicious. But be warned you will be so full at the end of it, that you will not manage even one of the chocolates they offer with the after dinner coffee. The next evening we selected from other items on the menu and had an equally delicious meal. Food highlights were the Pea and Crab Veloute, the fresh langoustines, the twice cooked pork belly and the whisky parfait with tea-soaked prunes. Oh, and the breakfast will set you up nicely for the day - lots to choose from, though the only things missing were a nice piece of haggis and a 'tattie scone' which would have made it the perfect Scottish cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: This hotel is also dog friendly - and they have certain room for which people can bring their four-l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplepatent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Strontian Hotel
The Strontian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strontian
199 reviews
12.6 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
9.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing