We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
$206
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$287
$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Leven Hotel(North Ballachulish)
$175
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballachulish Hotel(Ballachulish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
474
55
22
11
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
55
22
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch sunartdrawing roomardnamurchan peninsulatasting menuthis wonderful hotelromantic getawayportion sizessmall hotelcountry housepublic roomslangoustinessea bassvenisonbeautiful locationhomemade shortbreadthree nightswonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 562 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful couple of days at Kilcamb Lodge - a regular annual pilgrimage of ours and once again we were spoiled and cosseted every step of the way.

As a non meat eater, l was delighted to see a new seafood specials blackboard in the Brasserie (also served in the lovely restaurant) which featured some great choices of seafood and shellfish. I enjoyed Langoustines, Calamari, Oysters, Mussels and Crab during my two evenings and there was a fantastic Seafood sharing platter which l saw but did not try on this occasion. It looked stunning - lots of fresh fish but not too much shell to manhandle which suits me very well. Judging by the full Restaurant and Brasserie on both evenings, l would say that the seafood is a big hit, we have never seen it so busy. Keep it going please!!

Service as always was faultless, despite two new and rather nervous serving staff who were still in the training phase but they were nevertheless polite and charming at all times and displayed an eagerness to please which is such a feature of this hotel.

We also noticed a new WiFi system throughout the hotel so at last l had a good signal at all times. Something of a frustration on previous visits!!

This is a great place to enjoy a relaxing few days in a stunning and unspoiled corner of the west coast with exceptionally good food and attentive staff who always go the extra mile. Many Many Thanks for a great stay

Susan and Keith. Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Came ashore from our boat, moored to a boat off the hotel, on a wet evening to enjoy a warm welcome and eat delicious food, which was very well presented. The service was very attentive and we were made to feel most welcome. The fish was delicious and my wife and I had to share the yummy date and toffee pudding. A delightful evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have stayed several times at this wonderful hotel and our recent stay was just as good as ever. The rooms are extremely well-appointed and scrupulously clean. We ate in the dining room each night with its elegant atmosphere and enjoyed the excellent food on offer. The hotel staff were efficient, attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. All in all, a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay. John and Judith

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have to say most of the food was out of this world. Fortunately we have very small appetites and prefer quality to quantity so were satisfied even though the delicious morsels were exceptionally miniscule.. Fortunately also, we had ordered a side portion of chips so were able to fill up on a few of these .Again excellent big chunky crispy chips.
The receptionist was very good, but showed us straight to our seats in a noisy pub type room. On the phone we had been offered the choice of a formal dining room. We asked instead to relax and have a pre drink in the lounge which was fine. When we returned to our seats (carrying our own drinks) the room had quieted a little, but it still felt cramped. We had to ask twice for water. The one choice of bread roll (white) was served cold and had a very doughy texture.I don't think they can really justify their very high prices until they attend to these few important details and serve very slightly larger portion sizes.We were non residents so cannot comment on rooms etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you thought our food was "out of this world", but sorry to read that your expectations were not fully met regarding portion size and ambiance. I am very surprised as your comments are completely out of character with our establishment. After a total refurbishment in January 2013, our Brasserie has met with resounding acclaim for both the ambiance and it's "New England" style decor, with never a complaint about portion sizes being small; quite the contrary in fact. I regret we were unable to offer you a table in our restaurant on this occasion, sadly it was fully booked over an extremely busy Easter period. I wish you had commented to our staff at the time however, since we may well have been able to offer you a restaurant table, after a short wait with an aperitif by the fire.
Thank you nevertheless for taking the time to review us and we do hope your experience will not prevent you returning again soon when I hope that we can offer you our best table in our lovely loch view Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently spent two nights at Kilcamb Lodge in a peaceful location on the edge of Loch Sunart and surrounded by beautiful countryside.

After a very warm welcome things just got better. Our loch-view room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. The bathroom, with large shower, fluffy towels and a wide range of luxury toiletries was delightful. We appreciated having the bed turned down each night.

We ate all of our meals in the intimate dining room where the tables were laid with crisp table linen and sparkling glasses. The delicious meals were served by attentive, inobtrusive but friendly staff.

We hope to enjoy staying at the Lodge again in the future, and to explore more of the surrounding area.

A huge thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Mo and Jim

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews