We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited Kilcamb Lodge over a long weekend and were enchanted by its sheer tranquility and first class hospitality. The cuisine was first class - served in either the stylish dining room or the newly re-furbished brasserie; both offer a truly magnificent selection to suit all tastes. The ambience of the place is gently welcoming and emphatically comforting; one is assailed by splendid views over the loch and the sound of birdsong. Service is superb; the staff are charming and exceptionally helpful. The house exudes an air of history and warmth. The room was extremely spacious, comfortable and attractively appointed. If you want a wonderful escape from 21st century stress - this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Kilcamb Lodge Hotel and we are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Apart for our lovely location and the peace and tranquility of the area, we have a great team of staff here who deserve recognition for their hard work and caring approach to our customers. Thanks for noticing and for taking the time to write your review. It is greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Sally & David Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 552 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

A first-class experience, especially for those travelling with their canine companions. Our rooms were very well furnished with excellent linens and big comfy beds. Only the weak shower let them down a tad. The public rooms and new bistro are great and dinner was really enjoyable with the tight wine list offering pretty good variety and value. Breakfast was also worthy of praise, and overall the four of us thoroughly enjoyed our first visit.
Our only other comment would be the struggles of the two very polite younger European staff to come to terms with our relatively mild Scottish accents which led to a misunderstanding or two.
A hotel should not be an English language school.
But we would definitely come back. Cookie liked it too!

Room Tip: Ask for Number One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PersimmonPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcambfoxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Kilcamb Lodge Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you felt we were a first class experience and that Cookie your dog also enjoyed his visit.
Regarding our European staff, I am sorry there were some misunderstandings during your stay.
We have a policy here at Kilcamb Lodge offering two placements a year to Hotel and Catering Management students from European colleges with whom we are affiliated. The arrangement is not intended as an English learning course but more to give final year students the opportunity to gain “hands on” international hotel experience in all departments of the hotel. Their English language skills level has to be excellent in order for them to qualify for the placement but with new recruits, (as with the staff you encountered) it can take them a little more time to settle in and adjust to complex food terminology and indeed to the Scottish regional accent. I hope this explains our policy more fully and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kilcamb Lodge very soon. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This excellent place stands on the shores of Loch Sunart and offers outstanding views as well as an amazing air of tranquility as you regard the forested shores. The restaurant offers a Sunday Lunch Package for £16.50 for a three course meal. I booked and arrived early with my wife and we were greeted by the owner who was very welcoming and friendly. The atmosphere was good and encouraging for strangers there to converse freely and I ordered the smoked salmon starter with beef as main course as did my wife. I asked that my meat be medium rare. The food arrived quickly and was excellently cooked and presented. We had been given sufficient meat (not always the case in some establishments) as well as a variety of tasty vegetables. The meat was cooked as asked and was as flavorsome as any beef I can remember having. The dessert was an ice cream complex which was fabulous. All in all a splendid meal that is an enticement to the Sunday diner to make his way back there for mid week fine dining. The chef obviously takes great pains to produce great food and the owner provides the establishment that deserves support and commendation. As a local (sort of) I will defintely come back, on a Sunday or maybe try another day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hushpuppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of Sunday Lunch at Kilcamb Lodge. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed it and to know that our local customer base is expanding. Our Sunday Lunches are very popular with tourists and locals alike and of course we now have our new Driftwood Brasserie, which opened in March this year, as well as our renowned Fine Dining Restaurant so we hope we have expanded our facilities to cater for most tastes as well as budgets with the dining options we offer. We shall look forward to welcoming you again soon and thank you once again for your kind comments.
Sally & David Fox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want to escape from humanity for a weel earned rest, it doesn't come much better than this : from the welcoming character of the Yorkshire manager to the owner, David who takes care that everyones' needs are attended to, this hotel has a level of comfort to pamper along with food to die for - the chef is a marvel.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely appointed - for an additional fee you can secure a loch view but the hotel is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for kind your review of our hotel.
As you have recognised, Kilcamb Lodge is a "paradise of peace" and the essential
antidote to to city life. We are delighted you enjoyed it so much. We now have a team of four chefs in the kitchen who work very hard to offer the finest quality of food to our guests. We do think Head Chef is a marvel though! When he is not busy cooking, he entertains us all with magic tricks at which is is also rather good, so your comments are rather apt!!
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we look forward very much to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we travel extensively around the globe; i have to say the standard of food at the Kilcamb was truly excellent. the standards of comfort in the bedrooms and general areas within the hotel also excellent. There was a choice of fine dining or the brasserie. The food was similar in both places but in the fine dining restaurant - 5 courses (huge one may think) chef had the quantities just right and left you wanting to eat right up until the last course. My only comment would be they could vary the options a little more but the quality of food and service was truly excellent. the owner, manager and staff could not have been more welcoming and we are delighted to have found this little spot in the highlands. thankyou. beverley and neale.

Room Tip: we had a superior loch facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal experience.
Such compliments from an international traveller such as yourself, are reassuring indeed. We believe that Kilcamb Lodge is a special memory for many of our valued customers and we are delighted to be able to add you to that list.
We will look into your comments regarding offering more choice on the menu. We are just about to enter into the Summer season with our new Summer Menu so we will take your valued observations into account.
Many thanks from all the Team and we hope to welcome you back to Kilcamb Lodge very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wow. There's been a refurb and a Brasserie has appeared. What a good idea. You just cannot fault the quality, attention to detail, comfort and peaceful surroundings. The new Brasserie gives that more range to your dining options, yummy!

Shame we can't get up here a bit more often.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaguista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our new Brasserie.
We are so pleased you enjoyed it and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review.
We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Kilcamb Lodge soon.
With kind regards
Sally & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

JUST GETS BETTER AND BETTER

We have just enjoyed an overnight stay at Kilcamb Lodge which is our favourite highland retreat when we are in Scotland.
Once again our stay was superb in every way but on this occasion we were very impressed to see some lovely additions and renovations to the property.

Our room (6) had a lovely new bathroom an addition of shower as well as bath was most welcome and with underfloor heating and a modern elegant new look we were very impressed. The bedroom also had a face lift and had some lovely new furniture as well as new carpets etc. All in all we felt a great improvement although what was there before was lovely!!

The new Brasserie restaurant is a stunning addition where we chose to dine on our visit.
The food was sublime and every bit as good as the restaurant and there are some additional simple dishes too which are very reasonably priced and suited my partners needs on this particular evening. Being a fish lover, he had the fish and chips which he said were superb, lovely fresh haddock with crispy batter and chips to die for!

All the staff looked after us extremely well and were very efficient as always. They seem genuinely happy to serve you.

Our breakfast was delicious as always and we left with the feeling that Kilcamb Lodge never disappoints and in fact gets better as the years go by.

We shall return and recommend to all our friends.

Susan and Keith
Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
11.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
531 reviews
20.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range: $214 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing