We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down to earth and homely”
Review of Ariundle Centre

Ariundle Centre
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strontian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ariundle Centre
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down to earth and homely”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The centre is in a beautiful situation on the edge of Strontian. Helpful staff producing fresh home cooked food in the spacious and airy restaurant, well able to cope with special diets. A rustic atmosphere with genuine crafts for sale in the gift shop.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MayfieldsAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

would advise DONT GO HERE...dirty inside, partic bathroom, freezing cold with a reluctance of owner to put on heating at any time, dangerous as back of plug fell off the iron as iwas plugging it in, expensive for what you actually get- very little

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mickyg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strontian hotels

Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We liked the Ariundle and can see its appeal on many fronts - friendliness of owners, dog-friendly (they need to publicise this more as it was the deciding factor for us), spacious and comfortable accommodation - great shower, comfortable beds, value for money and general laidback approach. We recommend that visitors make time for the gorgeous woodland and riverside walk on its doorstep. We only had breakfast which was satisfying, especially the just-baked bread. The coffee could be better though. Another minor point is the light which stays on outside all night and is visible through the blind. There did not seem to be many people during our stay and we didn't experience any noise. It is worth noting that although there is a bar, do not assume it will be open later in the evening. The bunkhouse is a mile from the village so if you do intend to return for a late night drink, check first so that you're not disappointed. I would give this a 'good' rating if that option had been available. There is potential for it to be 'very good' but it needs a little bit of tweaking and some fresh marketing. We have recommended it to friends whom we know it would suit so these comments are intended as support not criticism.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGBute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked for one night, stayed for two in the end, so quiet and so relaxing! I probably wouldn't eat in the cafe again for dinner, but lunch was pretty good. Great area to unwind and hike. Very friendly owners! Twisty roads to get there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingOKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from two nights at the bunkhouse in Stronitan.

This was a toss-up b/w 'average' and 'very good'. Shame there isn't just a 'good' option. That said, a few very simple changes would make this an excellent destination.

I'm in a walking/climbing group of friends who have travelled around Scotland for 10 years+ bagging Munros, collecting Corbetts and grabbing the occasional Graham ... always enjoying the great outdoors ... so we know a thing or two about bunkhouses, nights away and hospitality.

Apart from a few issues over the bunkhouse booking (I'll say no more as it was not I that experienced that episode), all appeared well. We had a lovely meal in the tea room on arrival. My wife enjoyed a plate of mushroom & spinach pasta, I loved the beef stew and our girls split a main course cod. As per other comments, the service was slow, but we were not fussed by that. The service was warm and friendly.

The bunkhouse is set a short distance from the tearoom. The rooms are fine, but the walls are paper thin. You can hear every door close, every cough and flushing loo (I'll leave the rest to the imagination!). The blinds are as effective at keeping out the light as the walls are at sound insulation. At this time of year, when it is light at 4am - and then until gone 10pm - blinds that keep out the light would definitely help. And making that worse was the security light outside our room that was on all night. The room and en suite shower room were clean - and the beds were comfortable. We had a room with twin beds + a bunk bed - and it was bigger than many bunkhouses provide. Perfect for a family.

The most disappointing aspect was the kitchen and dining area - both too small for comfort. There were 20 of us - and we struggled for space. Cramped fridge space. A very small prep/cooking area - and a very tight squeeze for dining. Add to that a blocked sink that took a long time to get unblocked ...

We had a great weekend (we always do!) splitting into groups to tackle a variety of hills in the most spectacular midge-free conditions. We climbed the 98th/222 Corbetts, Beinn Resipol. The 2,772ft climb up from the campsite is a trek across beautiful countryside - though very boggy in places. The last ascent is pretty craggy but the views from the top are breathtaking - from Skye in the west to a snow-capped Ben Nevis in the east.

More weekends are planned ahead over the coming months. The group loves our weekends away. It is just a shame that some bunkhouses and hostels fall down in what we see as the real basics: delivering a good night's sleep and providing folk with a comfortable environment after a long day in Scotland's great outdoors.

The 'very good' could so easily have been 'excellent'.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had supper here while staying in B and B up the road. Very friendly staff, quite excellent food. Be prepared for a slowish event, dinner took its time, but we were on hols so who cares. We sat by the roaring fire with glass of wine in hand and chatting to the lovely Kate who has worked there for years and years. They dealt very competently with my gluten free requests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped off here on a cold winters day and were immediately in heaven with its roaring fire,authentic spinning wheel props and ceili music. We were served immediately by a pleasant staff member and just to make you aware the iced lemon cake is just perfection! We looked out onto beautiful mountain views and local sheep. We really didnt want to head back out into the cold - could have easily snuggled up and nodded off in here :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missacorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
8.6 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
77 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
19.5 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
878 reviews
12.9 mi away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 29 in Fort William
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariundle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariundle Centre

Property: Ariundle Centre
Address: Ariundle Centre, Strontian PH36 4JA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Strontian
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Ariundle Centre Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing