We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are in good hands here”
Review of The Corran

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Corran
Ranked #5 of 7 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I found this B and B which is a former doctors' surgery most relaxing. I had a superb large tastefully decorated room in the corner - i think it was room 2- with a lovely view over the garden and water. A few yards away is the Crinan canal where you can walk or cycle along the towpath. Paid £55 for single occupancy one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for The Corran
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a wedding to go to down past Lochgilphead and The Corran was suggested as a place to stay. Very welcoming, had to stay up late for u to arrive after a long trip, it was "no bother at all", even offered tea and toast at 12.30am! Breakfasts superb, rooms inside the house brilliant. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Inside the house rooms are excellent, cottage nice as well but general consensus was that inside was...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbhettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love this place! I want a house like this (except that such a building in London is only in the banker price range!). Very lovely house, great bedrooms and bathrooms, excellent showers (very important to us cyclists).Amazing garden - see my photo. Somewhere under cover to store bikes (lucky as it rained non stop over night, and all the next day, unfortunately). Good cooked breakfast, very pleasant staff.

We walked a short distance to the Indian/Chinese restaurant (I know, but it seemed to work) - and had a very satisying chinese meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primroselil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for a single night during a business trip. Very clean and pleasant B&B efficiently run by very pleasant proprietor.

Lovely setting - only in Scotland can the words driech and beautiful be used in the same sentence!!

Breakfast looked great but unfortunately I couldn't indulge!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Six of us stayed at the Corran and all had a fabulous time. The staff were so helpful, friendly, flexible and accommodating, nothing was a bother. The cottage was lovely, and the rooms and grounds were beautiful and don't miss the amazing breakfasts. Already panning a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeordieDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very happy with everyting. Our upstairs bedroom with comfy seats and lovely views over the garden & bay made it a special stay for us. Excellent Scottish breakfasts with more than we should have eaten! We'll be back.

Room Tip: We would especially recommend upstairs rooms overlooking the garden and bay.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewcastleGeordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good size room with all expected comforts (including wifi). Large, traditional house is in good condition and they have room in an outbuilding to store bicycles undercover (though the building is open, not locked). Misunderstanding on room type booked was easily and flexibly solved and staff very friendly.

(If you are after a "continental" breakfast, be aware this doesn't seem to include anything more that fruit, cereal and toast -- a cooked breakfast is a much better choice anyway!)

Room Tip: Room 1 has a very large bathroom
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lochgilphead
80 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
283 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 7 in Lochgilphead
65 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corran

Address: The Corran Poltalloch Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Price Range: $68 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corran 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Corran Hotel Lochgilphead
The Corran Lochgilphead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing