We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to stay when in Lochgilphead!”

Empire Travel Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Empire Travel Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great place to stay when in Lochgilphead!”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

A warm welcome says a lot about this place and it doesnt stop there. The rooms are large and have all the amenities you could ask for. Breakfast is also very nice, it also comes with some great service! Thank you for an enjoyable and warm stay, we hope to pass through again in the years to come!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    32
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
48
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed as a party of 3 as we were cyling from Lands' End to John O'Groats. The accomodation was perfect and we found the hosts to be expecially accommodating and helpful. Would strongly recommend this place, and if I am in the area again, I will definitely return. The breakfasts were equally faultless.

There is a good local pub nearby which is worth a visit in the evenings, which serves decent evening meals.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I stayed here with two friends during our trip from Land's End to John O'Groats.
After a long day cycling, Jim and Ele were very attentive ensuring we had everything we needed, including washing and drying our soaked through clothes and lending us dry shoes to go into the town in! Ele also kindly got up to cook us breakfast extremely early so that we could head out as the sun rose to make sure we were at our next stop before dark.
The rooms were very comfortable with plenty of room and the WIFI was very helpful for us to plan the next day. Rooms were good value and I'd recommend to any other LEJOG traveller.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrclaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed at the Empire for 6 weeks on a placement at the nearby hospital and every day was a pleasure. Staff are very welcoming and Jim and Ele were great hosts. Wifi access, great breakfast, large room, really nice bathroom and the location was right in the centre of town.

I cant believe there was even ONE bad review of this place! So sad that the person decided to review it on here and not get what everyone am sure reading his review will think and GET A LIFE! :)

Will be back in Lochgilphead in the autumn and definetley back here :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Great place to stay with clean, large bedrooms and bathrooms. Good attentive service from Jim and his wife. Excellent breakfast and very good value for money all round. Better than many 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcornriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Situated right in the centre of town.
Spacious comfortable double room.
Ele and Jim were very welcoming.
Breakfast was freshly prepared and very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougieYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I would honestly say that this hotel was brilliant. The hosts Jim and Elle were so welcoming and kind. The hotel is spotless and the bedrooms were comfortable and relaxing. Jim and Elle welcomed everyone at breakfast rememering their names. Thankyou to both Jim and Elle for making my stay a very pleasant one. I will be visiting again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumofoneMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
77 reviews
2.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
12.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 9 in Lochgilphead
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Travel Lodge

Property: Empire Travel Lodge
Address: Union Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Empire Travel Hotel Lochgilphead
Travel Lodge Scotland
Empire Travel Lodge Lochgilphead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing