We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lochgilphead, Hotel & Food”

Empire Travel Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Empire Travel Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lochgilphead, Hotel & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

One night return stay in the Empire Lodge last time was 5 years ago. It was a warm welcome and they have opened up to evening meals. Rooms were good and spacious, food was well priced and plenty of variety.
Thank you

Room Tip: Hotel is BYOB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K4Wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    32
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
47
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a cycling trip with pals. A very warm welcome, proper Scottish hospitality. Rooms exactly what we needed and the food, following 3 hard days in the saddle hit the mark perfectly.

BYOB too!

Great place. Definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parlabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed for four nights early in May and was fortunate to be there when Ele started to provide evening meals on selected days. The food, both at breakfast and in the evening, was excellent.
The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped and Jim and Ele were friendly and helpful.
The location was ideal for my purpose - i was researching my family history and the Argyll and Bute archives were only about 100 yards from the Travel Lodge. Kilmartin Church where my Great Great Grandfather was married was only ten minutes away by car. The Kilmartin Museum, opposite the Church is an excellent introduction to the history and geology of the Kilmartin Glen and surrounding countryside.
Unfortunately the weather during my stay was not good so I will be returning later this year and I look forward to staying with Jim and Ele again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I spent three nights here recently, the first of which was a Sunday. This meant that I got to sample the recently opened bistro- a very welcome inclusion that runs part of the week. The quality was high and left me wishing I could eat there again the following night.

The owners are friendly and professional- flexible, too. Able to cope with larger numbers for dinner than expected, despite the modest size of the restaurant area, they also agreed to stay open a bit later to allow for the arrival off the last bus from Glasgow.

Facilities are clean, comfortable and homely- DVD players built into the TVs and some films to borrow from the case in the hallway. The atmosphere hints positively at its past as a cinema, which makes for a nice touch.

Breakfast is excellent- cooked to order with the same friendly service. This really is a great place to stay for any purpose, and was a great base for a couple of days of cycling, using the Crinan Canal as a very pleasant access route. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoviceoftheBayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Helpful and friendly owners. Good value budget accommodation. Clean. Good breakfast cooked to order. Central location in Lochgilphead. Handy for The Crinan Canal walkers and Island visitors. Lots of regular business travellers which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly on scuba diving trips and have left a very positive review. However on our last day I discovered they now do evening meals, so feel compelled to do another review. 9 of us ate there and were all hugely impressed with the delicious freshly cooked food, generous portions, reasonable prices and extensive menu. Once again this place exceeds all expectations!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed one night. I was warmly welcomed and checked in with minimum fuss. The room was spacious, spotless and simply furnished but very comfortable - that included being able to control the room heating. I had an excellent evening meal, made with the freshest ingredients and cooked beautifully. £16 for two generous courses, plus crisply fried chips on the side, was unbeatable value for money. Breakfast was similarly freshly cooked and excellent quality. The only fair rating for my stay is "excellent".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
2.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.1 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Travel Lodge

Property: Empire Travel Lodge
Address: Union Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Empire Travel Hotel Lochgilphead
Travel Lodge Scotland
Empire Travel Lodge Lochgilphead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing