We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value!”
Review of Lochgair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lochgair Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Reviewed August 10, 2006

Had dinner and stayed for 1 night. Room was comfortable with a clean, modern bathroom. New Fyne Dining menu is fantastic, with excellent local produce cooked to perfection and served with care and attention to detail by the staff. Beautiful, intimate dining room. Bar menu also looks good. Whisky bar is extremely well stocked with many rarities. Overall, great value and highly recommended for dinner, accommodation or both.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 81 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Essex
13
Reviewed May 20, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we were well looked after, lovely comfortable well kept rooms, friendly and helpfull staff (all Scottish) which is a rarety these days, and the food was out of this world, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in March 2006. It is a warm friendly hotel with a great atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. I can personally recommend the seafood risotto as it was delicious. Breakfast was amazing (try the hash browns and black pudding). The hotel uses fresh scottish ingredients. The bar area is lovely (my husband can recommend the Loch Fyne Ales!) with a whisky bar housing more than 100 malts and a roaring log fire. The room was very comforable and immaculately clean. The walk down to the banks of the Loch was nice (only 2 mins away) and the views spectacular. There was still snow on the hills when we were there which gave a picture postcard effect. Good luck to the new owners. We will def return and will highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmithS&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dundee
11
Reviewed March 1, 2006

We stayed 3 nights here as we love walking around the breathtaking scenery in argyll and along the kintyre penninsula. We had a fantastic stay with a huge beautifully cooked breakfast(loved the stornaway black pudding!) which lasted us until we were back in for our evening meal which was delightfull also all 3 nights especially accompanied with a very well suited and balanced wine list. The hotel was a breath of fresh air as the 2 brothers were most helpfull and always pleased to see us and nothing was too much trouble. The whisky bar is far too much choice for one night but we will definately visit again. Thanks very much see you in the autumn...

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2006

3  Thank Littlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2006

5  Thank IainScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 7 in Lochgilphead
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgair Hotel

Address: Lochgilphead PA31 8SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Price Range: $96 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lochgair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run traditional Scottish hotel with an award winning whisky bar which houses more than 200 whiskies, 2 restaurants, residents lounge, games room, function suite & most important of all a friendly welcome! All our food is freshly prepared by our chef patron & team and our seafood is quite simply the best in the world. You can be sure of a relaxing & enjoyable stay here at the Lochgair Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lochgair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgair Hotel Lochgilphead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing