We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables Restaurant and Take Away - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Stables Restaurant and Take Away
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Argyll, Scotland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Handy for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A straightforward cafe type restaurant, The Stables offers standard meals and sandwiches from fish and chips, lasagne, steak pie etc., to substantial rolls and salads. A useful stop on any journey through Argyll, perhaps on the way to Crinan, or Tarbert, or even Campbeltown. Wine is from miniature bottles (basic) and the coffee is good.

Inexpensive, pleasant place to lunch with friends or as a stopover.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veronica59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Been going there for years every time my wife and I are down at ardrishaig always get great meal and plenty on the plate staff are always very helpful will always use when in the area recommend anything on the menu

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alec F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunching in Lochgilphead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We pitched up 14:30 and two of us had an all day breakfast, the Lorne sausage was really tasty and really well cooked, coming from the butcher in Campbeltown, The black pudding spot on and was nicely cooked too. Didn't really like the tattie scone or was it the pudding? Really enjoyed it. The rest of the cookie crew had panini which were quite nicely done. However I would steer clear of the flavoured milk, the weans didn't like it at all. They should have had a glass of wine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeeWinkieWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and i, along with our two boys, called in to escape the awful weather and thought we had stepped back in time! The staff were so friendly and the fish and chips was the best i had during our week stay in argyll. My wife had a baked potato with prawns as she wasn't hungry, it looked great when it arrived and was much more than she expected. We were pleasantly surprised and went back on the friday for filled rolls for the journey home. Would call in again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“embarassing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

went here for a quick bite to eat while passing through lochgilphead, ordered the cheese burger & my wife the veggie burger what arrived looked not to bad although served on morning rolls instead of burger buns, but unfortunatly that is where it ends the burger was not only deep fried but they had done it with the veggie burger not that great if your vegetarian the beef burger was the cheapest money could buy & tasted like it all in all wont be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greedychops80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables Restaurant and Take Away also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing