We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Byre”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seafield Farm Cottages
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first stay in this area of Scotland. The cottage was very well equipped with large airy rooms and is a showcase for Jane's basket weaving. We saw very few people on our rambles, but loads of wildlife. We must have had the best weather so far this year, the views from Castle Dounie were stunning! Jane bakes a wicked lemon drizzle cake, it didn't last long.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuildersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thankyou for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Achnamara and the weather was kind to you. It is great when our visitors find that it doesn't always rain in Scotland - and how stunningly beautiful it is here on a clear day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

In September we stayed at The Stable cottage. It was our first family holiday and by April we had returned!
The location is beautiful. No street lights or police sirens keeping you up at night! While we stayed in April we saw wild deer pass by twice a day to get to and from the loch. A fantastic sight. Our 2 yr old girl loves the cottage as it really feels like a home away from home. Jane kindly left some toys out for Ruby which she loved although she spent most of the week outside saying hello to the chickens and exploring. It's a place for kids to be kids safely. The cake on arrival is very welcome and is gone by the third day! The cottage is better equipt than I ever imagined and if you need anything Jane and James are always happy to help.
Only 15 mins from Lochgilphead it's the perfect location for everyone. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else and I can't wait till October when we return!

P.s the chicken eggs were delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review - we are lucky to have such delightful, appreciative visitors. I'll be hoping for some October sunshine for you all (but better pack the wellies and waterproofs just in case!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We came back!! exactly 3 months since we came the first time! Bought family this time and they have had the best week ever in the Byre.
Longer days this time and the sunsets, especially tonight, have been awesome along with the best weather we have ever had "up North"! Kayaking in the loch and being followed by seals, climbing to the Arichonan ruins, short walk and well worth it for the fabulous view and history.
Thanks Jane for your little touches of eggs and hot cross buns and see you again very soon no doubt.
I don't know why I review this because I can foresee problems trying to book next time, as everyone will want to come here!! x

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Yours is not the quickest ever repeat visit but very close to it. Glad you enjoyed your second stay and look forward to seeing you again. You are braver than we are - kayaking in March is very impressive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Kirkland Lodge in March and what a great time we had. The lodge is so comfortable and well prepared and a nice touch was the lemon cake waiting for us on arrival. The scenery was amazing over Loch Sween and we saw wildlife in abundance including deer around the lodge and otters in the loch. There is so much to do in the area and information is provided in the lodge, but it was also entertaining watching the birds and red squirrels which visit the garden. The evenings were so quiet and relaxing that this was the perfect place to de stress and we will definitely be returning to Kirkland Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks for your great review. It's fantastic that there is so much wildlife close to Kirkland Lodge and our visitors always enjoy watching the loch. Loch Sween and Achnamara are a little off the beaten track so you don't have to share the area with too many others. We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Friendly welcome, lemon drizzle in the kitchen (which lasted about 2 minutes - fabulous) wam, cosy. Like a home from home. Very well placed for all the activities in the area and really quiet at night. Scenery round and abouts is stunning. Just wish I wasnt reviewing it so positively otherwise everyone will be visiting!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilkleyARP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the review - visitors are often pleasantly surprised by the area and the variety of different landscapes and seascapes. Achnamara and Loch Sween aren't very well known in the wider world which means there is a lot of space for everyone - you can walk for miles without seeing another person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Brilliant stay-couldn't wish for more. The Byre cottage was incredibly well equipped especially in the kitchen with every conceivable utensil and basic food items supplied.

Cottage was warm,cosy and inviting, sky telly and hi-fi.

Bedroom spacious with comfy bed with loads of hanging and storage space.

Bathroom well equipped with shower and washing machine.

A warm welcome from James and Jane who gave loads of tips on what to see and do locally.

Returned home with some of Jane's wonderful woven baskets and home made conserves.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thankyou for your review of Byre Cottage and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will come back at a time of year when the daylight hours are longer and you can see more of this lovely area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked for the week over New Year and the cottage is fabulous and the location is the best we have stayed at! With an excellent log burner, unlimited firewood, absolutely everything that you need (even including some foodstuff that you may have forgotten) clean, tidy, excellent hostess in Jane, including a home made cake on arrival and fairy lights. Had a red squirrel in the garden, an otter in the loch and deer everywhere. The weather only made us light the fire earlier.....we are lucky enough to be moving to Tayvallich but will recommend that our visitors stay here. 5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thankyou for your review - very glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkland and managed to spot plenty of wildlife. Good luck with your building plans - we'll be sorry to lose you as guests but pleased to welcome you as neighbours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lochgilphead hotels
7.7 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
108 reviews
0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
82 reviews
5.1 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 7 in Lochgilphead
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Corran
The Corran
#5 of 7 in Lochgilphead
83 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Farm Cottages

Address: Achnamara, Lochgilphead PA31 8PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lochgilphead
Price Range: $98 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafield Farm Cottages are three lovely self catering holiday homes around Loch Sween, Argyll near the village of Achnamara. Byre and Stable Cottages each sleep 2 in two bedrooms and Kirkland Lodge sleeps 2 in one bedroom. All of our accommodation is exceptionally well equipped and comfortable and situated in a beautiful and little known part of the west coast of Scotland. Walking and wildlife in abundance. The perfect place for a relaxing holiday just two hours from Glasgow. We do not accept pets in any of our accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seafield Farm Cottages Lochgilphead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing