We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see in the New Year.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seafield Farm Cottages
1 review
“Great place to see in the New Year.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Brilliant stay-couldn't wish for more. The Byre cottage was incredibly well equipped especially in the kitchen with every conceivable utensil and basic food items supplied.

Cottage was warm,cosy and inviting, sky telly and hi-fi.

Bedroom spacious with comfy bed with loads of hanging and storage space.

Bathroom well equipped with shower and washing machine.

A warm welcome from James and Jane who gave loads of tips on what to see and do locally.

Returned home with some of Jane's wonderful woven baskets and home made conserves.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thankyou for your review of Byre Cottage and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will come back at a time of year when the daylight hours are longer and you can see more of this lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked for the week over New Year and the cottage is fabulous and the location is the best we have stayed at! With an excellent log burner, unlimited firewood, absolutely everything that you need (even including some foodstuff that you may have forgotten) clean, tidy, excellent hostess in Jane, including a home made cake on arrival and fairy lights. Had a red squirrel in the garden, an otter in the loch and deer everywhere. The weather only made us light the fire earlier.....we are lucky enough to be moving to Tayvallich but will recommend that our visitors stay here. 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thankyou for your review - very glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkland and managed to spot plenty of wildlife. Good luck with your building plans - we'll be sorry to lose you as guests but pleased to welcome you as neighbours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed in Kirkland Lodge on quite a few occasions over the past ten years at different times of the year and have enjoyed every visit immensely. It is a fantastic wooden chalet style cottage with great views down Loch Sween towards the Isle of Jura. Whilst small it is very cosy for two or a couple with child and is very well equipped. For the days when the weather isn't great there is Sky+, Wi-Fi, dvd and ipod dock .There is also a wood burner which is great for curling up in front of with a glass of wine after a day out exploring the magnificent local scenery. We have watched otters several times on the shore just outside the cottage. Seals, deer, red squirrels and a wide variety of bird life are also regular visitors. The Scottish Beaver trial have started a reintroduction project in the area and you can see evidence of their activity on a number of the local lochs including a particularly impressive dam nearby. There are loads of great walks/cycle tracks in the area and it's an ideal spot for sea kayaking. Within a 30 minute drive are plenty of places worth a visit such as the Crinan Canal, Taynish Nature Reserve and boat trips to Jura. Also a number of very good cafes and pubs within a short drive and Lochgilphead has all the shops you'll need to stock up with any supplies. However one of the best things about these properties is the welcome and warm hospitality you will receive from Jane and James. A great cottage to relax and unwind in and enjoy life at a more leisurely pace. We can't wait for our next visit!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
What a lovely review - thankyou very much! Great photos too. We look forward to seeing you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in Kirkland Lodge for a week in November 2012. Jane and James gave made us very welcome and a gorgeous cake ! They were available for local knowledge but not intrusive - perfect hosts.
The lodge is 'home from home', cosy and everything you could possibly need is there, including Wi-Fi. A very peaceful location with wild life on the door step. Lots of interesting things to do and see within a 10 mile radius, with walking and cycling straight from the lodge.
Take your supplies with you or make sure you stock up in Lochgilphead when you are out and about, local meat fish bread etc available.
If you like your night life with flashing lights and two legs this is not the place for you. We were happy with star laden skies and the call of the birds.
Plenty of wildlife - seals, otters, red squirrels (take some peanuts for the feeder to be sure of daily visits) deer, buzzards, heron and much more. The Beaver reserve is only 3 miles - we did not see any but you can see their lodge and where they have been.

A fantastic place to relax and experience nature, go and recharge your batteries - Oh yes the best bit no phone signal .... BLISS !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyh1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Achnamara and hope to see you again.

The main beaver site is good for seeing what beavers do but not great for actually seeing the beavers. We can give our visitors information on the best places and times to spot them. It is easier to see them in the summer months with the long daylight hours.

For anyone who needs to keep in touch with the outside world, there is a payphone in the lodge which accepts incoming calls. The best mobile network in this area is Vodafone - other providers work closer to Lochgilphead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Seafield Farm Cottages in July, Jane and James are fantastic hosts and nothing is a problem...customer service at the highest hospitality levels, these self catering cottages are full of everything you need for a self catering holiday, including fresh homemade cake and jam waiting on arrival!! stocked with cook books, all cooking equipment and utensils a real home from home in a fantastic location and areas of natural beauty in every corner. One of the best holidays we have had as a familiy!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyLisaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a review of Jane and James’s Seafield Farm self catering accommodation (the old farm house itself), not The Stables, The Byre, or Kirkland. The Stables and The Byre are accommodation in an adjacent stone building; Kirkland is about 1.5 miles further along Loch Sween, past Achnamara, and is an isolated chalet-style building. Kirkland has outstanding views. Although we have also stayed variously at The Byre, The Stables and Kirkland many years ago, and enjoyed our stays, it was too long ago to review these now.

The Farm is a comfortable self-contained traditional stone house with a spacious farm house kitchen and an equally spacious sun-room which has sofas, a TV and a large family dining table. There is also a large utility room. A particular appeal is that the rooms have a more homely feel than other self catering places, with many useful extras – perhaps because Jane and James move into the Farm in the winter.

Upstairs is a large double room with adjacent bathroom, making the upper floor quite self-contained. Downstairs the living room becomes a bedroom with double bed, with a twin room combined with ensuite bathroom beyond. Access to the twin through the double is not ideal, but the ensuite for the twin, along with a separately accessible bathroom for the double means that it works quite well.

The location is isolated near the head of Loch Sween, with little to disturb apart from the call of buzzards. Jane not only works hard at keeping the accommodation running, but took messages for us, does basket weaving, makes cakes (for sale) and tends a productive kitchen garden and hens. James was equally busy doing things such as managing woodland and renovating windows, but both were really friendly and chatty despite this!

There is a shop in Tayvallich, about 8 miles away, for essentials, and a friendly pub. Otherwise, Lochgilphead is only a little more distant and provides supermarkets and a wider range of eating places. However, we self catered for all our meals as it was convenient and enjoyable.

The location is perfect for biking, either on-road (I enjoyed the Castle Sween , Loch Caolisport and Ardrishaig loop) or off-road on the many forest trails of the Knapdale Forest. Cross over from Tayvallich to Carsaig for views of the Paps of Jura and the Sound. Our friends had a canoe and saw an otter and even a Basking Shark. For dinghy sailors like us, it is perfect Wayfarer country. Explore sheltered Loch Sween and the Faery Isles (look out for the Ospreys) or, if you are adventurous and the weather is really kind, go across to Jura. It is a long sail down to Castle Sween first, but the turn into the sound of Jura will be memorable. Alternatively, try drop the boat in at Carsaig for a shorter trip to Jura, but do watch the currents. We have been to Jura one-and-a-half times (the “half” was when the wind threatened to die half way across and we turned back).

There are simple slipways in Achnamara, Tayvallich and Carsaig. Canoes can be launched near Seafield Farm but this dries at low tide so dinghies need to use the slipways.

Downsides? Well this is lowland Scotland; you won’t be wowed by towering mountains and glens, although the Rest and Be Thankful pass is impressive, but it is beautiful in a gentler way and really quite accessible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katisha_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thankyou for writing a review for Seafield Farmhouse. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Would totally agree that the interconnecting double and twin bedrooms are only really suitable for families with young-ish children. By next year, we hope to have renovated the second upstairs bedroom which will make the accommodation suitable for most family combinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
3.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
276 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
507 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 9 in Lochgilphead
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
10.6 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
5.1 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 9 in Lochgilphead
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Farm Cottages

Property: Seafield Farm Cottages
Address: Achnamara, Lochgilphead PA31 8PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lochgilphead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafield Farm Cottages are three lovely self catering holiday homes around Loch Sween, Argyll near the village of Achnamara. Byre and Stable Cottages each sleep 2 in two bedrooms and Kirkland Lodge sleeps 2 in one bedroom. All of our accommodation is exceptionally well equipped and comfortable and situated in a beautiful and little known part of the west coast of Scotland. Walking and wildlife in abundance. The perfect place for a relaxing holiday just two hours from Glasgow. We do not accept pets in any of our accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seafield Farm Cottages Lochgilphead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing