We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Argyll and Bute'iful Stag Hotel.”

The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Argyll and Bute'iful Stag Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really recommend this friendly and comfortable Hotel. Perfectly placed for touring the Mull and ferries to the islands. The rooms are immaculately clean, comfortable and great value. The staff are helpful like family and breakfast is more than adequate, a perfect start to the day! With everything in house, bars, bar meals and a fair restaurant menu there really is no real need to go elsewhere at the end of a tiring day. I have made this excellent Hotel my home and base on two occasions and look forward to returning again soon. Many thanks to all the staff. I can thoroughly recommend this Hotel to the honest traveller.

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the function room if sleeping very early, However in my experience the functions e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoLiN365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
13
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Been in this hotel a few times, never fails on the service, especially from Shirley. Never a bother with anything, very friendly, lovely food. Just a lovely wee hotel. Just a pity the walls are too thick for the wifi! Will defo be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Like the last reviewer said this place has according to my aunt who is a local, undergone a massive renovation and is a credit to the present owners. We had dinner without a reservation and chef made pasta for me because I didn't fancy the other vegetarian options. Desserts were lovely and there was a nice homely atmosphere. We were invited to see the new beer garden which is gorgeous - water features and gazebos etc. lunch out there or a drink on a warm evening is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My car tyre blew out and I had to spend the night is Lochgiphead at the last minute. This hotel has been entirely redone and is really very stunning now. Helpful staff, lovely clean room/bathroom, had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and made lots of friends sitting on the outdoor patio. What could have been a dark spot on my vacation was a lovely find. Would definitely refer this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bswuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped there for lunch, were given a higher priced menu than the one on the door and had to ask for the lunch one. Service was a bit slow but ok as was the food. This is a old building and had been painted not long ago it still shows its age.The toilets were very confusing as there was no cubical in the gents and male and female had to share the disabled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettuddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

when arriving to the bar for drinks we asked for a vodka and coke and was given the cheapest coke ever!! we asked for the music to be on and the bar staff said no because football was on but there was no one else in the bar and i am pretty sure ive been short changed in here several times . also when we asked for a drink we where given reall small glasses even though we asked for long glasses . one thing that was nice though was the food in the restaurant .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silent9assasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lochgilphead hotels

Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 2nd January having broken down nearby and needing a bed for the night til we got moving again. The room was £70 bed and breakfast, reasonable fir a last minute walk-in. However, room was extremely basic - I have stayed in nicer Travelodges - bedclothes were torn in places and the ensuite bathroom had no bath, a shower only and felt a bit like a disabled toilet you might find in a train station.

That said, we weren't there for luxury and it was a bed for the night and not too expensive considering it wasn't an advance booking.

Saving grace was the food in the bar - we had steak pie which was absolutely delicious (steak pie is my absolute favourite food in the world though and I was starving so perhaps a little biased!) Breakfast the following morning was also nice.

All in all if you're broken down in the area and your car's brought to the garage next door then you could do worse for a bed for the night, but if you are coming to the area for a break then there's probably nicer places to stay - incidentally we were on our way back from a New Year's break at the Killean Estate in Tarbert about 40 mins away from Lochgilphead which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticlinzi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.4 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Argyll Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Stag Hotel And Restaurant
Stag Hotel Lochgilphead
The Stag Hotel & Restaurant Lochgilphead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing