We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Smiddy Bistro

The Smiddy Bistro
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Have been here 3 times this time with my sister in law from Kent we had a lovely meal crab and trout salads and very pleasant young staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayfayfay555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    49
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Friends recommended this little place for lunch. Very glad we looked for it - its not on main street - down a wee lane. Food was very good indeed, thoroughly enjoyed the soup, baguette (which was warm - lovely). Shortbread very good too. Only thing coffee was a bit on the cool side. Not cheap but worth it. Quite small though so you might have difficulty getting a table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem - Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Twelve years ago we were in Lochgilphead and found this wonderful little bistro. The food and service was excellent. I remember I had a wonderful salad and my husband had a steak treat. We were very impressed.

Finding ourselves in Lochgilphead this July - 2014 - with our son i remembered the Smiddy, but would it still be there? Would it still be as good?

Yes it was, and I introduced my son to its delicious fare - he often travels to Lochgilphead but had never been to this wonderful little place. We all had a delicious lunch, and once again I had a mouthwatering salad, full of fresh fruit and veg, along with smoked trout and a delicious creamy cheese. Washed down with a very nice Shiraz.. My husband and son plumped for sandwiches and we just had enough room for delicious scones and cake. Mmmmm

Food, service, value for money - too right. Just as I remember it. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vee2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“fab lunch at a hidden gem”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Having a wee day visit to the town and lunched at this brilliant wee bistro. Had a marvellous lunch; soup and a prawn baguette - superb. Huge servings, beautifully presented and tasted divine. We were full for the rest of the day. Very quick and professional service, warm and friendly. Ask where it is when yiu arrive and make sure you get a table. Lovely wee place, a great advert for Lochgilphead and Scotland

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Favouriteword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautifully presented lunch!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Like most others found just passing through. Thought we would have a light bite. ... left stuffed! The salads are huge and beautifully presented garnished with fruits, nice warm bread for sandwiches and a great choice of cakes! Warming atmosphere very nice staff would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crat791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smiddy Bistro also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Smiddy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing