We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, friendly and delicious”
Review of The Tayvallich Inn

The Tayvallich Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the picturesque village of Tayvallich on the shores of Loch Sween, the Inn overlooks the beautiful natural harbour of Tayvallich bay. At the heart of this small and vibrant community, the Tayvallich Inn has always been a popular meeting place for sailors, holidaymakers, more recently kayakers and all who enjoy our warm hospitality and good food. Established over 30 years ago, the Tayvallich Inn specialises in fresh, locally caught seafood, much of which is landed on our doorstep from the cold, pristine waters of the sound of Jura. Along with seafood we serve other fresh produce, sourcing locally where ever possible.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, friendly and delicious”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It is wonderful to see a local inn producing tasty good food with local produce bt it is even nicer to know you will be welcomed personnally and met with friendly, helpful service in a clean and happy environment. Thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffyducked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    58
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst service ever experienced & food not worth the wait!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited Tayvallich Inn as part of a party of 7 people on Saturday 12 October for my girlfirend's birthday. I have been a couple of times before and knew the service was a bit slow but this time was beyond slow.

The table was booked for 6.30pm, we arrived on time. There was another 3 or 4 tables in the same time. The waitress came fairly quickly to take our drinks order. The drinks took a while to arrive and said she would come back to take our orders. We waited a while before she came back to take the food order.

The starters took about 30 minutes to arrive once the order had been taken. When they did arrive my order was wrong - I ordered mussels in tomato sauce but was served mussels in white wine sauce. I sent it back and 10 mins later they brought what can only be described as mussels in dish water. I was so hungry but this point I didnt complain and ate it.

Another long wait until the main course came. I didnt time it but it must have been 40 minutes. The order was correct this time, however the vegetables were cold and had to be returned to be heated up. When it was returned the vegetables were nice and hot but the salmon and rice had cooled - I was too hungry to send it back this time so just ate it.

Meanwhile the people at the table near us had been waiting so long for their main course they cancelled the order and were offerred their starters free of charge.

We should have complained more however didnt want to make a fuss and spoil the birthday celebrations any more than it had been already. Although they didnt charge for the mussels that didnt make up for the slow and terrible service, the cold and poor quality food.

The whole experience was not great and it out a dampener on the night and the birthday celebrations.

I will not return and wouldnt recommend to anyone to eat here. I suggest the management review their staffing levels and the care and attention their kitchen staff take with the orders.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time, tide & simple fresh food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Menu is on the black board. when its done, it's done. Langoustine, fresh & pink. Scallops, Lobster, need some oysters to complete the picture. Great beef, superb all round service with a view that's been a part of so many s life's over many years. Stay with fresh, simple, local and you'll continue winning all the time. Thank you for great nights, accommodating all friends and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsnelson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are visiting the Lochgilphead area and looking for a good seafood restaurant, I doubt that the Tayvallich Inn will disappoint. Picturesquely located on a sheltered inlet off Loch Sween, the Inn offers bar, restaurant and outdoor seating, all with great views of the waterfront. The menu, which is not extensive, is biased towards seafood, but there are other dishes on offer as well. Service was efficient and very pleasant, and the food was excellent. We both opted for one of the four scallops dishes on the main menu. Each was beautifully cooked and presented, and I would say that they were the best of several scallops dishes that we tasted in the area. Well-kept beer from the Loch Ness Brewery was available on tap - the madNess was particularly good. So, if you make the effort seek out the Tayvallich Inn, I'm sure you will find that your journey has been worthwhile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good meal with excellent views”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

well worth a visit for a meal or just a drink with outstanding views of the harbour with the yachts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tayvallich Inn also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Tayvallich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing