We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lobster ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tayvallich Inn

The Tayvallich Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the picturesque village of Tayvallich on the shores of Loch Sween, the Inn overlooks the beautiful natural harbour of Tayvallich bay. At the heart of this small and vibrant community, the Tayvallich Inn has always been a popular meeting place for sailors, holidaymakers, more recently kayakers and all who enjoy our warm hospitality and good food. Established over 30 years ago, the Tayvallich Inn specialises in fresh, locally caught seafood, much of which is landed on our doorstep from the cold, pristine waters of the sound of Jura. Along with seafood we serve other fresh produce, sourcing locally where ever possible.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best lobster ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a fabulous sunny week in Tayvallich and came here for dinner almost every night. Incredible seafood dishes, lovely staff, stunning setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    54
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice & relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food & staff where very very good. Been on holiday 2 up to tayvallich & going back next year. The burger is a must its amazeing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is worth a visit - lovely setting with friendly staff. Menu varied and very good - relaxed and can sit in or outside. Very enjoyable experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gjd7013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food! Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived early, so we spent some quality time in the pub enjoying the scenery. After the restaurant opened, we were promptly seated and treated to several presentations of scallops and other seafood. The Inn is somewhat out of the way, but definitely worth the drive!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were staying on the campsite by the inn and decided the treat ourselves to tea. What a great place! Great food and excellent ale on hand-pull. We both had the King Scallopes with Chorizo to start, which had big fresh Scallopes. For main I had a starter portion of Mussles provencial with a portion of chips, the starter portion was easily big enough for a main and again they were super fresh. The other half had a salmon, smoked haddock and prawn gratin from the specials board which again was lovely and tasty and fresh. We were too full for desert but not full enough to take home some of their delicious home-made shortbread - a real treat! The inn is in a stunning location in a lovely corner of Argyll, we came back the next night for beers on the terrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tayvallich Inn also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Tayvallich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing