We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not made welcome!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tayvallich Inn

The Tayvallich Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the picturesque village of Tayvallich on the shores of Loch Sween, the Inn overlooks the beautiful natural harbour of Tayvallich bay. At the heart of this small and vibrant community, the Tayvallich Inn has always been a popular meeting place for sailors, holidaymakers, more recently kayakers and all who enjoy our warm hospitality and good food. Established over 30 years ago, the Tayvallich Inn specialises in fresh, locally caught seafood, much of which is landed on our doorstep from the cold, pristine waters of the sound of Jura. Along with seafood we serve other fresh produce, sourcing locally where ever possible.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not made welcome!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had been recommended the Tayvallich Inn by a client and whilst working in the area popped in for lunch. I and two work colleagues popped in at lunch time on a Friday afternoon, admittedly all the tables were full but no offer of "you can wait for one to become free" was made so we were told we'd have to eat outside, rather odd when every other person whom walked through the door managed to get a table.

However, it wasn't too cold outside so we went with it. Although the menu does say everything is cooked to order (call me old fashioned, I thought that was how a restaurant worked?) we might need to wait a while. But since we merely ordered a couple of salads with chicken and one main meal the near 30 min wait was poor, the non apology was also poor.

The food was ok, nothing special, just ok. Perhaps as we were not locals and clearly not holidaying that meant we were unimportant, but perhaps in the dark winter months they might appreciate some passing trade? Unfortunately I wouldn't dream of giving them any more of my business!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cuzeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    55
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staying in this area we visited this restaurant not once but twice! Selection and quality of food was excellent. Megan and Mia made our night with their friendly and relaxed service and knowledge of the local area. Shame so many of these gems are hidden away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June_Andrew18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place for lunch on a whim. The food was excellent with big portions. Seating was in the bar area. The service was good and the atmosphere was very pleasant with wonderful views across the Tayvallich bay. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE BEST SEAFOOD IN SCOTLAND! BAR NONE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The staff, the setting combined with the quality and quantity of The Seafood Platter makes for a perfect meal out. If you find yourself in this area then you will not be well advised to forsake all other seafood restaurants and bar meals for something to remember! And the price is better than the competition in this area. The Best Seafood Platter Guaranteed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The freshest seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visited for lunch on a miserable wet Scottish day. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The standard menu and the specials board are strong on seafood. Plenty of choice for those who prefer other dishes. We each had a different dish and the freshness and quality of the seafood would be hard to match. All of us thoroughly enjoyed our food.
We've been here several times in the past and eaten on the little terrace overlooking the bay full of yachts with white cottages all around.
The drive to reach the Inn is a spectacle itself - Don't drive passed this door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tayvallich Inn also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Tayvallich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing