We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family lunch at the Tayvallich Inn”
Review of The Tayvallich Inn

The Tayvallich Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the picturesque village of Tayvallich on the shores of Loch Sween, the Inn overlooks the beautiful natural harbour of Tayvallich bay. At the heart of this small and vibrant community, the Tayvallich Inn has always been a popular meeting place for sailors, holidaymakers, more recently kayakers and all who enjoy our warm hospitality and good food. Established over 30 years ago, the Tayvallich Inn specialises in fresh, locally caught seafood, much of which is landed on our doorstep from the cold, pristine waters of the sound of Jura. Along with seafood we serve other fresh produce, sourcing locally where ever possible.
Crinan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family lunch at the Tayvallich Inn”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am a fairly regular visitor to the Tayvallich Inn and have always under this present ownership been greeted warmly and in a friendly manner which always starts the visit on the right note. The location and views are unique and probably unparalelled on the West Coast but most importantly the food is excellent, local and consistently of a high quality.
In a world where restaurants come and go in quality the Tayvallich Inn persists at a high standard which makes me feel confident in recommending it to all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    62
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Birthday meal”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from lunch at this Inn. Magnificent meal. Fresh lobster c/w with prawns, squat lobster & salad.

Soup was Cullen skink - delightful.

Fresh (again - boring isn't it) haddock chips & salad.

Ate outside in glorious sunshine. Bottle of wine. Very smooth. Champagne considered but decided against - just a tad too pricey.... probably due to demand being low.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Still good food in a graet setting”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had dinner on Saturday night whilst staying at the Cairnbaan Hotel and fortunately we had planned ahead and booked. The place was heaving. We ate in the restaurant which is a little quieter than the bar although the menu is identical.
I started with moules mariniere which were succulent and delicious and a large portion for a starter and my wife had chicken strips which she pronounced delicious. I followed with spicy Cajun chicken, my favourite at Tayvallich, and it was as good as usual. My wife had haddock and chips which were also excellent. We couldn't manage desserts.
With two glasses of wine, two glasses of soda water and a large bottle of sparkling mineral water the bill came to £52 which was exceptional value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kildwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh,scotland
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stopped for a light lunch and restaurant has tremendous views over the water. Would have eaten outside but it was raining. However when rain stopped, staff dried the benches so we could have coffee outside.
Good menu of fish and meats and we both had 2 starters each (just as well in view of portion size). After a large plate of seafood soup and a large bowl of mussels, I couldn't have eaten more neither could my wife who had the vegetable soup and Jura Crabs Claws.
Nice friendly staff and another couple who did eat outside, both had lobster which looked delicious

Recommended at lunchtime, there were around 8 diners and the food came quickly

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing location!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Myself and my husband stopped off for lunch on a Thursday afternoon at the beginning of June. We were amazed by the location and decided to take advantage of the good weather and sit outside in the sunshine. There was a bit of a wait for our meal but it was worth the wait. My husband had the burger which was lovely, very thick and juicy. So nice to see a burger served in something other than a frozen seeded burger bun! I ordered the mussels and decided to have an extra portion of chips to full me up, well that was a mistake! The muscle portion was massive and they were delicious. Staff were very friendly and service was with a smile. Will certainly be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Demacml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tayvallich Inn also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Tayvallich, Argyll and Bute
 
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Tayvallich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing