We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a nice b&b with other owners, at the moment its terrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edencoille Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be a nice b&b with other owners, at the moment its terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is definetely not a four star B&B, I give it maximum two stars because of the lack of hospitality and the smell from the smoke of cigaretes from probably the owner you smell around the hole house even when you trying to sleep. When we arrived here the owner wasn't friendly at all, he said here are the keys of your room and the room is upstairs...help yourself. At breakfeast (this was only good part of the stay) he asked 'would you like some tea or coffee....help yourself', then he trow the bill on the table and didn't say anything at all.

The interior of this house is ridiculous with all kind of dolls and teadybears like snowwhite and the seven dwarfs in the garden. The only reason this couple has a B&B is the money they earn with it. Don't go there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    46
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
122
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

There's not much that they haven't thought of at this B&B - fluffy bathrobes, slippers, foot spa, late night snacks... Our room was ensuite at the back of the house. On arrival all the windows were wide open - having been attacked by midges already, this wasn't appreciated and they were quickly closed! The personal knick knacks were quaint at first, but after a while the novelty wears off having to move teddy bears, rag dolls, china ornaments and cushions all over the place. The bathroom was very spacious and spotlessly clean, with a great shower cubicle, again everything you could need was provided. Unfortunately our bed was absolutely awful. It had a horrendous squeak, every time you moved just a fraction it was so noisy, neither of us got much sleep. Breakfast was fantastic though, with so much to choose from on the table, we didn't know where to start. The only downside was that everything was served at once - cooked breakfast arrived whilst still earing cereal, along with the toast etc, so we had to choose which to let go cold, whilst eating the other. I don't think Drew was in a very good mood that morning!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

What a lovely place. Both of us enjoyed our stay in this welcoming B&B. Owners so kind and helpful and friendly, and the house was such a delight with paintings, china figures, and soft beds with a teddy in rooms! Just what was needed after a long day walking. We were so glad to have stayed there.

The breakfast was lovely too-kippers were cooked perfectly and there were fresh scones and lovely fruit-melons and pineapple. Such a lovely place. Thank you to you both.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougans78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed for one night while walking the West Highland Way, and we had a ground floor room with a bathroom next door for our sole use. Everything was scrupulously clean and very homely. They gave us a good recommendation for eating in the town, and the breakfast was most definitely the best of the whole week - the choice was superb.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

One needs to be open to surprises when choosing to stay in B & B's, so the "homey" decor and knick knacks at this inn were certainly one of the surprises. While not our style, we could still smile at the inn which had clean, comfortable beds and a scrumptious breakfast. All the fruit was a delightful change from the more traditional Scottish breakfasts we were served along the West Highland Way.

Regretfully, the hosts were not feeling very host-like and our welcome and breakfast service were less than warm. However, they were under some medical stress and everyone is entitled to bad days, are they not? It's just more difficult when your livelihood partly depends on being pleasant. Most discouraging, however was the cigarette smoke in the inn. The guests were not smoking, but either the hosts or their personal guests were and as non-smokers, we were put off by this. We didn't mind the extra walking back and forth to town as it didn't feel far to us, but putting in high mileage days over and over again, this is worth noting when walking the West Highland Way and choosing this guest house. (Taxis are available as our mates discovered!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2acorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Kinlochleven isn't the most picturesque of places, but if you are walking the West Highland Way it is a necessary stop and Edencoille caters for your every need from sewing kits to teddy bears and late night munchies! The owners, Elsie and Drew, are very friendly and welcoming. We were unfortunate to have the smallest room in the house (having caught glimpses of the others I was jealous). We both had a teddy bear and a foot spa was provided (tip - don't put any shower gel in or the bubbles will be up to your armpits). We didn't have en-suite facilities (2 out of the 8 rooms don't) but we had a sink in our room. Everything was spotless and plenty of toiletries were provided. A good selection of sweets and chocolates were available for sale if you were running out of supplies and there was a good choice for breakfast. Loads of different fresh fruits, breads and cheeses in addition to the traditional cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Great hospitality and the most amazing breakfast. Just what you need after another day walking on the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank specy4eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.3 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edencoille Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edencoille Bed & Breakfast

Property: Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Address: Edencoille Garbhein Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elsie and Drew Robertson extend you a warm Highland Welcome when you visit Edencoille Guest House. Edencoille is a charming, family run, 4 Star guest house in an elevated position in Kinlochleven overlooking Loch Leven and set among the dramatic peaks of Glencoe and the Mamores. Elsie & Drew assure you of their personal service and attention at all times.Kinlochleven is situated on the West Highland Way and the accommodation is ideal for walkers on the Way and hill climbers alike. Edencoille has free drying facilities for outdoor gear and we offer a laundry service at a reasonable charge.Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu. Free Wi-Fi available and clients are welcome to relax and unwind in our well appointed lounge. Please note that Edencoille is a non-smoking establishment.The rooms have comfortable beds, a fabulous range of toiletries along with a foot spa, hairdryer, bathrobes and power showers. Our rooms also have LCD TVs and DVD players. There is a good choice of restaurants for an evening meal within easy walking distance of Edencoille.Kinlochleven is near stunning Glencoe, Fort William (the Outdoor Capital of the UK) and is an ideal base for exploring the West Coast of Scotland and the famous Isle of Skye. The area is perfect for hill walking, Munro bagging, fishing, climbing and wildlife watching, being the haunt of the Golden Eagle, Peregrine falcon, Red Deer, Otter and Pine Marten.We hope you stay at Edencoille when visiting Scotland and we will be pleased to help you plan your holiday.Sláinte, Elsie & Drew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Edencoille Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing