We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed emotions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had chosen to make this our long day on the West Highland Way, so after almost 20 miles we arrived in Kinlochleven. Edencoille is on the far-side of the town and a little uphill which almost finished us off !!
The welcome was warm and the unexpected offer of a fruit meringue was a nice touch.
The bathroom was large but every available surface was filled with shower gel, shampoo etc which left no room for our stuff. The room was small with no space for our two cases and again many of the surfaces were covered - more biscuits, tea, coffee, milk than you would use in a month !!
Breakfast, however, more than made up for those minor quibbles. We sat at one of two large tables which makes it so much easier to talk to the other guests - many of whom we had stayed with or met on other parts of the walk. The food was incredible - you could order almost anything you could imagine and at this stage we went for the continental. Lots of fresh fruit, cold meats cheese, wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you kindly to the Nomadic Teachers for taking the time to submit your review and mentioning the warm welcome. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our set up for breakfast so that you could engage with the other walkers with whom you had met during your walk. The West Highland Way is an extremely sociable walk and we are glad that you enjoyed it so much. With regard to the rooms, we do try to offer all of our walkers every single comfort since walkers do not always have room in their bags for all of the little bits and pieces. We certainly hope that you and your friends can make it to Kinlochleven and visit us again. Kind regards to all. Elsie & Drew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 346 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Elsie and Drew are wonderful hosts that are passionate about their home, their business and they fully understand what going the extre mile to ensure that a perfect stay is all about. We are a family of 5, 3 girls 10, 8 and 5. We travelled all over Scotland and can honestly say that this stay was the highlight of all the accomodations stayed. We stayed at BB's, Country Inns, Golf resorts, 4&5 star hotels and Beachfront homes. The girls loved their princess beds, and the fresh creme meringue cakes that wait for all travellers on arrival each day. The breakfast was a highlight delaying our travels each day due to the abundance of choice. Our room was spacious and the bathroom facillities were excellent. Beds were vey comfortable, they only sligt issue was a double bed which my wife and I were not used to the size so we slept in two of the girls beds the following night, placed the two youngest together and both had wonderful sleeps.
Kinlochleven is down a twisty scenic road from the town of Glencoe featuring majestic look outs and unspoilt views. Add the extra time (15 mins ) to your trip you will not regret nor forget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Drew and I are over the moon to receive such an absolutely wonderful review. You are indeed correct David, we are both passionate about our home and do try to go the extra mile to ensure that everyone has a wonderful stay. It was a real pleasure to provide you and your family with our hospitality and it was a treat in itself to meet you. All the very best to you, your wife and your three adorable girls. Elsie & Drew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A great place to stay! We felt really welcome and were given some very nice homemade cookies and beer when we arrived. Probably our very best stay along the West Highland Way.
We had a small, but very good room. The breakfast was indeed very good, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esbenwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Greetings to Viborg in Denmark and thank you for your review which is very much appreciated indeed. Drew and I are pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the cookies and beer and our breakfast. Kind regards. Elsie & Drew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a lovely B&B! On arrival we got given a 'welcome cake' of meringue, raspberries and cream - totally needed after the long walk we had just done for the West Highland Way.

Our room was lovely; lots of biscuits, mints and teabags, and in the bathroom were loads and loads of toiletries including fancy bath foams, shower gels, soaps etc. Wonderful bathroom with bath and separate shower. Really good beds, at first I was sceptical as the bed creaked a lot but actually it was incredibly comfortable.

Breakfast was great, big selection of hams, cheeses, yogurts and fruit as well as the usual things.

For West Highland Wayers - the B&B is a little out the way; you leave the walk at Kinlochleven bridge and it's about 10 more minutes through the village. Well worth staying here though; B&Bs at their finest!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hello Sarah and thanks for taking the time to send in your enthusiastic review. Your comments are lovely since we aim to please every guest and ensure that you have everything that you can possibly need after a days walking on the West Highland Way. All the very best to the fantastic capital city of Edinburgh. Elsie & Drew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place has to be seen to be believed. Rooms are spic & span, outfitted with state of the art beds and bathroom plumbing. Rooms are decorated with an incredible attention to detail, in a very sweet sugary style with ballerina's, teddybears, and other decorative items. Lots of chocolates, and also soaps and shampoos to choose from, in tasteful little trays and baskets. The garden features snow white and the seven dwarfs. Everything about this place says "perfectionists".
The breakfast is also the best ever! An endless range of fresh fruits, juices, cereals, meats, cheeses, salmon and your typical scottish breakfast items. The beds are good quality and are quite comfortable. The sitting lounge is a nice place for some relaxation or reading, but has a similar sweet style of decoration with endless numbers of figurines. The drying room in a shed next to the house is a great facility, that dried our soaked clothers so we could use them again the next day.
The couple running the B&B are extremely friendly and service-minded. There is another man helping out (probably the son?) but he's not the sociable type.
Shortly after arrival, we were presented with a welcoming pastry with whipped cream. How about that for service and attention to detail! All in all, a must-see experience and definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbrouwer_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Greetings to Amersfoort and thank you so much for your five star review and for your high recommendation. We pride ourselves on ensuring that the place is spic and span with every facility our guests could possibly need. Since we cater for so many West Highland Way walkers, the drying room is an absolute necessity so thanks for mentioning this. As for the anti-sociable son, well you just can’t get the staff nowadays (kids eh?!!). Kind regards Elsie & Drew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Edencoile b&b last week whilst on the last leg of the West Highland Way. We were met with cream meringues and chocolates in our room and from then on nothing was too much trouble. I asked if I could put an ice pack in the freezer for a foot injury and I was offered 2 pre frozen ones to use while mine chilled. A foot spa and free wifi in the rooms was ideal but the best was yet to come. The breakfasts are renowned and for good reason. Fresh pineapple, strawberries, melon, yoghurts, smoked salmon, scones, full Scottish breakfast were just some of the items on offer and all were absolutely delicious. Elsie and her husband were perfect hosts and made the stay an absolute delight. I just need another excuse to visit Kinlochleven!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherSt091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

It was a delight to read your review Heather, thanks so much for all of your lovely comments. We try to think of everything possible to help our walkers so the ice packs were the least we could do. There are lots of activities in and around Kinlochleven so please do find an excuse to come back and stay again! Kind regards to you and yours in Gateshead. Elsie & Drew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

An amazing welcome - within minutes we were presented with 2 delicious meringues laced with fresh fruit and cream. The range and quality of the food at breakfast was extraordinary - besides a variety of cooked dishes, a chiller was full of all manner of cooked meats, cheeses and fresh fruit, which also adorned the table. Our room was also littered with an abundance of quality chocolates and the bathroom was packed full of all manner of toiletries. If there is a criticism, it is that we felt a little on edge in case we dropped anything or knocked over one of the numerous ornaments which were all around (closing the curtains, for example, was a job not to be hurried). That said, a qualty B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Greetings all the way down the country to Southampton and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It put a smile on our faces to see the title A Culinary Extravaganza and for you to rate us a quality b&b because we have high standards and strive to provide hospitality second to none. All the very best. Elsie & Drew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.3 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
500 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 9 in Kinlochleven
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 9 in Kinlochleven
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Kinlochleven
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
#5 of 9 in Kinlochleven
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edencoille Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edencoille Bed & Breakfast

Address: Edencoille Garbhein Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elsie and Drew Robertson extend you a warm Highland Welcome when you visit Edencoille Guest House. Edencoille is a charming, family run, 4 Star guest house in an elevated position in Kinlochleven overlooking Loch Leven and set among the dramatic peaks of Glencoe and the Mamores. Elsie & Drew assure you of their personal service and attention at all times.Kinlochleven is situated on the West Highland Way and the accommodation is ideal for walkers on the Way and hill climbers alike. Edencoille has free drying facilities for outdoor gear and we offer a laundry service at a reasonable charge.Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu. Free Wi-Fi available and clients are welcome to relax and unwind in our well appointed lounge. Please note that Edencoille is a non-smoking establishment.The rooms have comfortable beds, a fabulous range of toiletries along with a foot spa, hairdryer, bathrobes and power showers. Our rooms also have LCD TVs and DVD players. There is a good choice of restaurants for an evening meal within easy walking distance of Edencoille.Kinlochleven is near stunning Glencoe, Fort William (the Outdoor Capital of the UK) and is an ideal base for exploring the West Coast of Scotland and the famous Isle of Skye. The area is perfect for hill walking, Munro bagging, fishing, climbing and wildlife watching, being the haunt of the Golden Eagle, Peregrine falcon, Red Deer, Otter and Pine Marten.We hope you stay at Edencoille when visiting Scotland and we will be pleased to help you plan your holiday.Sláinte, Elsie & Drew. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing