We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on the WHW”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinlochleven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B on the WHW”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The only thing I can think of to say which is not positive is that this B&B is a short distance off the WHW. However, that is not a criticism of this fantastic B&B and I would urge people to make that extra effort to reach this fantastic B&B. Snow White and the 7 dwarves climbing the steps in the garden do make you smile (especially as Bashful has his back turned!) and sets the scene for the amazing interior. This house obviously expresses the owners' taste and is beautifully decorated in all the areas I saw, with many nice ornaments and other touches. While I appreciate these may not be to everyone's taste I would say to detractors that you are being invited into someone's home and should accept it as it is. We had a wonderful bedroom on the first floor with a lovely bathroom (shower) and comfortable bed - I had the best sleep of the entire WHW here as the mattress was not rock hard as in xome other places. There were lovely touches such as chocolates on the pillow and extra biscuits by the bed. Another nice touch was an array of goodies for sale (via an honesty box) on the landing - perfect for that 'I fancy something but I don't know what' moment. For those of a more healthy nature there was a bowl of fruit in the lounge.

Breakfast was magnificent. I'm pleased I didn't have the cooked breakfast as I would have embarrassed myself by not being able to make a dent in it! I can therefore recommend the Continental Breakfast with an amazing choice of fruits, meats, sausage and bread. And as for the homemade scones - they were amazing. Breakfast wasd served by, I assume, Drew who was quiet and reserved but whom I found to be personable.

Would love to go back...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    52
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
130
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Where to start? We absolutely loved this B&B. We stayed here whilst walking the WHW and had the room on the ground floor which was extremely comfy and had a gorgeous bathroom! There was plenty of shortbread, biscuits, tea and coffee. There was even a fluffy robe and a foot spa! Breakfast was out of this world with everything you could possibly imagine, and all really high quality. I opted for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and it was one - if not the best - breakfasts of the whole trip. We also asked for a packed lunch which was enough to feed an army (although we did manage most of it)! A big thank you to Elsie and everyone at Edencoille.

Room Tip: Room 1 with the great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janandchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

How could Snowwhite and her dwarfs in the garden and the hundreds of well dusted porcelain ornaments in this B&B detract from it from offering the best Breakfast in Scotland. Everything considered - blueberries, melons, cherries, pineapple...blackpudding, smoked salmon, trout, porridge...everything and anything you could possibly want. And a foot spa in the room after 6 days of hard walking the West Highland Way.Perfect !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stumbled upon this from a local tourist guidebook, because of its "elevated position" above Loch Leven. Definitely a place for walkers though we were touring by car. Unassuming 3-storey home, and as some reviewers have said, more stuffed animals than most places! However, our room (ensuite on the ground floor) had an enormous selection of toiletries - and first aid items for sore muscles - as well as a wide choice of drinks and biscuits. Elsie had thought of everything. The room was comfortable, the bathroom very well equipped, and the breakfast should be on the World's Top Ten Guesthouse Breakfasts! The choice was outstanding, and although our hostess of the previous evening was not at breakfast, and son was cooking, the kippers and scrambled eggs/local smoked salmon together with bowls of fresh berries were worth the room cost alone. Excellent value for money. Incidentally we enjoyed a pub meal in the evening at the local pub Elsie recommended, where the publican was a Gaelic speaker, the food was very acceptable and we could walk home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jillmalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Having just stayed here, our party found it to be the most friendly and welcoming accommodation of the West Highland Way. The rooms were spotlessly clean and it seemed that our every need has been considered even down to ice packs being provided for sore muscles. The breakfast was exceptional and we were made to feel very welcome with our host even going so far as giving us all a lift in his car to a restaurant for dinner. I agree that there is a very, very faint smell of smoke in the rooms but this does not in any way detract from the kindness and thoughtfulness of our hosts and the enjoyment of our stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillymintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We loved Edencoille and all it's charm. The B & B owners have obviously taken a great deal of care to ensure that the rooms are full of character. This is what makes the B & B more special than a faceless hotel. Our room had a double bed and 2 singles, and when we arrived it smelled fresh and clean. The room was full of personal touches, such as the dolls and teddies on each of the beds. The bathroom was very modern and clean, and the room itself was spotless. There was plenty of space for hanging clothes, some lovely soft dressing gowns, and plentiful supplies of tea, coffee, shortbread etc.

The B & B is situated a short walk from the main street of Kinlochleven and is very quiet and welcoming. Elsie and Drew were both friendly and welcoming, and we were given the option of leaving any wet clothes in a heated, ventilated store outside.

Breakfast was fantastic! We had 5 varieties of fresh fruit on the table (pineapple, blueberries, raspberries, strawberries & melon); we both enjoyed the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (2 large slices of smoked salmon laid over the eggs) which we chose from a wide ranging menu, and there was a plentiful supply of tea or coffee, juice, and toast, rolls and homemade scones. Most definitely the best breakfast of the week!

We have absolutely no complaint about this B & B aside from the fact that it would appear that there is/had been a smoker in the house or our room. While it smelled fresh on arrival, by bedtime the room smelled slightly of stale cigarette smoke, and sadly the bedding also smelled this way. Many people would probably not have noticed, but as someone who notices that someone in the car in front of me is smoking, it was not the most pleasant experience. However, in every other way this B & B exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Edencoille is very nice, the room itself was modern and comfortable, with ensuite bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the room had many little amenities - robes and slippers, plenty of soaps, and a beautiful tea tray stuffed to the brim with buscuits, teas, coffees and everything you need.

The one drawback I would have to say was that despite the "no smoking" signs, it was obvious that people had been smoking indoors. The whole place had the stale smell of cigarettes, and this got into our luggage and clothes (I could smell it on my shirt the entire day following our stay)

But any thoughts about that were forgotten at breakfast - Edencoille provide an amazing spread of delicious options, and no worries about going hungry, there is plenty of food, and all was first class. The coffee also was very good (after days of instant coffee, fresh brewed was very welcome!) and the dining room very comfortable and furnished to a high standard. Overall a good place to stay in Kinlochleven.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAA0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.3 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
475 reviews
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 10 in Kinlochleven
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Kinlochleven
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edencoille Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edencoille Bed & Breakfast

Property: Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Address: Edencoille Garbhein Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elsie and Drew Robertson extend you a warm Highland Welcome when you visit Edencoille Guest House. Edencoille is a charming, family run, 4 Star guest house in an elevated position in Kinlochleven overlooking Loch Leven and set among the dramatic peaks of Glencoe and the Mamores. Elsie & Drew assure you of their personal service and attention at all times.Kinlochleven is situated on the West Highland Way and the accommodation is ideal for walkers on the Way and hill climbers alike. Edencoille has free drying facilities for outdoor gear and we offer a laundry service at a reasonable charge.Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu. Free Wi-Fi available and clients are welcome to relax and unwind in our well appointed lounge. Please note that Edencoille is a non-smoking establishment.The rooms have comfortable beds, a fabulous range of toiletries along with a foot spa, hairdryer, bathrobes and power showers. Our rooms also have LCD TVs and DVD players. There is a good choice of restaurants for an evening meal within easy walking distance of Edencoille.Kinlochleven is near stunning Glencoe, Fort William (the Outdoor Capital of the UK) and is an ideal base for exploring the West Coast of Scotland and the famous Isle of Skye. The area is perfect for hill walking, Munro bagging, fishing, climbing and wildlife watching, being the haunt of the Golden Eagle, Peregrine falcon, Red Deer, Otter and Pine Marten.We hope you stay at Edencoille when visiting Scotland and we will be pleased to help you plan your holiday.Sláinte, Elsie & Drew. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing