We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a front runner”
Review of Tailrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tailrace Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Booked to stay elsewhere and got transferred when the B&B was closed over my booking date, so effectively got demoted according to TripAdvisor rankings for Kinlochleven.

The room itself was more than adequate, clean, well presented with a queen size bed and en suite shower, offering all that was necessary and reasonable value for money. However, it turned out the bed had a ridge down the centre of the mattress and I found myself having to try and lie astride the ridge or sliding to one side of the bed, certainly not providing the anticipated comfortable night's sleep in this size bed.

I didn't particularly want a large breakfast but was also disappointed to find the orange juice served in very small tumblers and not available in a serving jug.

The Tailrace seems to be more of a bar for the local community than competing directly with the main B&B's for the passing tourist trade, and whose rooms probably get called upon when the first choice B&B's are full.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank merrellj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Tailrace Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly greeting upon check-in. Arrived early, and room was already ready. Queen plus single bed, but I was traveling single, so more than I needed. Drying room wasn't working, which would have been nice. The downstairs pub was a bit noisy with an electronic gambling machine being constantly played and pop music blaring from the TV. Had dinner there but moved to another establishment to have drinks for the evening (which also had a nice river view). Thought the rate was a bit steep for what I got, but it's a smaller Inn and there's not much else in Kinlochleven, so ... supply and demand.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgertrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Tailrace Inn is a bit special, a bit different.Do not go here if you want immaculate starched linen napkins, tartan wallpaper and formality. The Tailrace supports its location by providing very well the sort of amenities that the likely clientele will want. That is good wholesome filling food, plenty to drink, a relaxing and informal atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bedrooms.
If you come down off the fells and just want to kick off your boots, get out of your wet clothes, have a hot shower, a swift dram or two and good food, followed by a comfortable sleep, ready for a hearty breakfast the next morning ready to go and tackle some more of the many hills, lochs, rivers and scenery around. This is the place. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not necessary - from what I could discern, all rooms are very good
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just used the Trailrace inn as a base for two days while exploring the local area. We received a friendly welcome from staff and locals and fellow tourists, had good food and a very welcome beer at the end of each long day. Our family room had 5 beds but we were not short of space at all.

We Also had our dog with us who was made very welcome too.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, good bar food in the evening, great breakfast to set us up for the day and friendly staff. Good value for money all round.

We will definitely come back again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Tailrace Inn is situated in the very sleepy town of Kinlochleven. It is surrounded by hills and a river. Great for hiking. The Inn itself offered a bar and rooms that were clean. The service, however, was lacking. We are not high maintenance travelers and do not require a lot of attention, but do prefer a smile upon arrival. We walked into the hotel and saw no front desk so we wandered into the bar area carrying our bags (obviously just arriving). Everyone stopped and stared at us so we felt uncomfortable and thought we must be in the wrong place. We then started to wander around the hotel looking for a sign or instructions for check in. A few minutes later one of the employees came and tracked us down and asked us what we were doing and we said we needed to check in. She practically rolled her eyes when she told us we check in at the bar. Note: There was no sign indicating you check in at the bar and we had to interrupt bar patrons to check in. I think there should be a sign indicating to guests that you check in at the bar to reduce confusion. When we asked if there was anything to see or do nearby the bar tender said, “No, there is nothing to do.” After a bit more probing she did tell us there was a trail up to a water fall right outside the hotel. We also later realized by walking around that there is an indoor ice/rock climbing wall within a 5 min walk from the hotel. We were told dinner was served at 8:30 although signs posted around the hotel said there was a 2 for 10 pound special from 4-6 pm. It is not the type of place that would have reservations as you seat yourself and order and pick up your food at the bar, there is no wait staff per se. Not sure why we were told we couldn't eat until 8:30 pm, but thankfully we weren't starving. We walked around town but there was only one other restaurant option so we went back to the hotel to eat. The food was bar food was decent. The breakfast was a traditional Scottish breakfast and was very filling. I personally would not stay here again. We felt like we were an inconvenience to the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We wandered into this pub wet, sweaty, knackered and with sore feet after walking from Tyndrum.
We needed something to eat as we were very hungry. We ordered 2 pints and a sign on the bar offered 'chips, beans and sausage roll £4.95'. This is not the food I would usually order in a pub but it sounded good fayre after nearly 30 miles walking. It was nothing special but boy, did it fill a much needed gap.
The bar staff were friendly and helpful and we had no major complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apollosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stopped for refreshment/late lunch on our West Highland Way trek. Pleasant, efficient service and value for money good quality food, particularly as we made full use of the 4pm "deal". Would recommend pub for West Highland Way travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinlochleven hotels
0.3 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highland Getaway
Highland Getaway
#3 of 10 in Kinlochleven
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 10 in Kinlochleven
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Kinlochleven
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
#4 of 10 in Kinlochleven
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tailrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailrace Inn

Address: Riverside Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range: $34 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tailrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En-suite accommodation, good food and drink •The inn has 6 fully modernised bedrooms with en-suite facilities •Secure online booking available •Bar •Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in the bar and bedrooms •Meals are served in our bar and dining room • ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tailrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tailrace Inn Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing