We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a pub with rooms than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
AYR, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More a pub with rooms than a hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

This 'hotel' is ideal for backpackers or people looking for a cheap and cheerful nights stay. The rooms are pretty basic and the bathrooms could do with being updated. The hotel is really a pub with a few rooms upstairs. When we stayed it was a saturday and at night music from the pub could be heard until well into the early hours. The rooms were also really warm, despite no heating being on! There was a fan in the room but it didn't do much to keep the room cool. Overall not great! I wouldn't stay again.

One good point is the highland feast breakfast! Very tasty.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the view
  • Disliked — Music until 2 in the morning, uncomfortable room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMESY1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    134
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
66
125
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

Stayed here for one night. Amazing views, great beer and food. The room was fantastic and given the off-season rate (£22) it was great value.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights from 17th - 20th February and the stay was great. We arrived with 3 dogs and they were happy to let us have the dogs in the room - we were happy to pay the extra cleaning if they were messy but this wasn't required.
As were were going to the festival on 2 night in Fort William the Chef was happy to serve us meals at 5pm although normally meals served from 6pm.
Breakfast was one of the nicest i have had - cooked perfectly to order.
We were made to feel welcome - the bar was lovely with spectacular views. Ideal for walkers coming off the hill and wants a hearty meal and a drink / game of pool.
We will definately be back and will recommend to others.

  • Liked — Location, views, lots of whisky and good food.
  • Disliked — Nothing - although for disabled I would check as we only new of a staircase up to bedrooms - didn't see alternative.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gennyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2007

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel as I thought we'd got a good deal (£29 pp dinner, bed and breakfast) and the reviews I'd read had been very good, however, it was a very disappointing experience.

When we arrived, reception was closed so we went to the bar for lunch - we had heard the food was very good. However, we were told by a confused barman that the chef had not turned up and they were expecting him soon. We weren't too diappointed as the bar was full of young guys in tracksuits and caps playing pool.

When we did check in, we were quite pleased with the room although the view was of the car park. We were not offered a room with a better view even though the hotel was not fully booked.

We were extremely disappointed with dinner. We had heard the food was made from fresh local produce, however, nothing was fresh and it all seemed to have been bought from a supermarket (frozen battered fish, oven chips, packet pate and brie). The steak was a very cheap cut, riddled with fat, and was well overcooked.

When we went back to our room, we were not happy to find that we could clearly hear the voices of people smoking outside and could hear all movements in the neighbouring rooms and corridor.

Breakfast was average, but very greasy and the eggs were overcooked.

We would never go back to this hotel and, even though it was cheap, it was not worth the money.

  • Liked — The room was quite modern and clean
  • Disliked — Food, noise, staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sc0ttish_Burd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

Found this little gem on a internet search. We were looking for a good base for a few days walking and photography in the Glen Nevis region so, the prime consideration was location. However, what we actually found was a hotel in a lovely setting with clean spacious rooms, friendly helpful staff and exceptionally good food.
The owner was really helpful with the loan of some useful maps and a book on the Munroe's of Scotland.
I have stopped in some very expensive hotels courtesy of many business trips around the world and the level of service, friendliness and quality of the food (both breakfast and evening meal) would rival many of them.
I'm certain we will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Liked — Clean and roomy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cwherberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

This hotel was modern, clean and had very spacious rooms. Perfect for familys, we have a toddler and it was ideal for our needs. The breakfast provided all you need with a 'help yourself' table full of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, plus you can order from the hot food menu with as much toast, tea and coffee as you want. The evening meal, which could be ordered in the bar or comfortable dining room, was reasonably priced and provided a varied menu and included a kids menu! Overall the hotel was excellent value for money. Plus the staff were approachable, helpful and friendly, and especially cheerful to our little girl.

  • Liked — Spacious & Clean Room, Good Helpings of food, Overall good value for money.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great for hillwalking, must be prepared to travel (via car) for other things to do.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

Penultimate day of the West Highland Way, and what a relief to find a hotel with a shower AND bath, bright comfortable rooms and helpful friendly staff. Also had a great meal in the Bothy Bar, smoked salmon and sea bass. Breakfast was also good value. Not the cheapest place we stayed, but not much dearer than some that had been extremely poor. Fantastic location.

  • Liked — Well run, good staff.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank visitorfromBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
9.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Property: The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing