We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and accomodating, highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Pre booked a cabin at The MacDonald Hotel, only to arrive after a very very long day walking the West Higland Way to ask if a paid upgrade was possible.

The excellent owner immediately helped out, changed our accomodation to a room and kept the kitchen open a little longer than usual just to cook us some dinner.

The food was just the trick after a long day, the service and staff flawless, and it was indeed a very restful nights sleep with excellent morning views.

I'm sure i'll be doing the West Highland Way again, and know i'll be staying here again on the Kinlochleven leg.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverageJoeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 502 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

I am not surprised at all the other great reviews of this hotel! The staff and owner fully deserve them.
The Macdonald Hotel is not a fancy place, it seems to cater mostly for hillwalkers and climbers and as such does a great job. But it also provides for the casual visitor to this marvellous part of Scotland. Having driven through Kinlochleven a few years ago I am glad that I remembered the hotel. It is perfectly adequate to anybody's needs and provides good value for money.
We (husband and wife and a friend) got a very warm and friendly welcome from Frances, the owner. The rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated and squeaky clean. They also have fly screens on the windows which in this midgie-infested (during summer) part of Scotland is an absolute must. We immediately felt at home.
We decided to have dinner in the Bothy Bar. Frances pointed out that the dining-room has the same food as the bar but dogs would not be allowed in the dining-room. We opted for the bar and had the pleasure of the company of one of Frances's dogs. The food was very good and as others have pointed out the Steak pie made with the Three Sisters Ale was extremely good. I had to defend it from my husband and our friend who kept sticking their forks into it. The Three Sisters Ale is delicious and there is a great range of whiskies to choose from at very good prices. The bar menu is varied and there are also specials on offer each night.
We stayed on a Saturday night and there was live music in the bar. "The Shine", a local band, were very good indeed and all of Kinlochleven seemed to have come in in order to support them. Good fun was added by some local gentlemen in Highland dress who had come back from a re-enactment of the Raising of the Standard. Oh, it was great fun altogether. It was also lovely to see Frances mingling with the locals and guests.
Breakfast was delicious, I cannot say other than that. The staff were polite and friendly at all times.
The view from the hotel over Loch Leven is just incredible. We were blessed with glorious sunshine and were extremely sorry to leave.
All in all it was a most enjoyable stay and we will return when next we find ourselves in that part of Scotland.
Well done to the Macdonald Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Cabin was spacious and provided comfortable clean beds. Showers were clean but basic with only 2 for all campsite and cabins. Staff were great. We ate breakfast and dinner here and both were super. A lot of midges although the hotel does have deterents.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zed1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Very nice and solid family-driven Hotel. We stayed there one night with 6 Persons after a long, rainy walk on the WHW and had a very recreative sleep.

The staff was extraordinary nice and friendly, the rooms were clean, the food was good, and they have a nice pub too with friendly atmosphere and big TV. (I didn´t visit the restaurant though, so i can´t tell anything about it.)

I realy enjoyed my stay. Great Hotel if you walk the WHW!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin_Hofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed with 6 persons in two cabins of each 4 persons.
Price was cheap.
Friendly staff.

Cabins were clean, good beds.
Showers were okay, toilets were clean.
Drying room was as big as the individual showers and didn't work at all.

Dinner in the hotel was fairly priced an good.
In the village there is a supermarket were you can buy food for the day after or breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonGeronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

The room here was lovely. We had a nice pint and a game of darts with the boys in the pub. The hotel was a little pricey, but that did include full breakfast. Certainly a welcome sight after a day on the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewR34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed in the hotel, and it was very simple but cute and comfortable. The staff is very lovely, and the food was tasty enough. There is a bar with a large TV, where you can eat while watching the game. There is also a separate dining area for more quiet dining. The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning and it's a short walk to a beautiful waterfall.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
683 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: $87 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing